Store name Rating Posted Review text
Côté Cuir
Google | Lucky
5 May 1, 2020 We like Pirate Ship. It's really simple to use and prices are goods, especially for international shipments under 4 pounds. The team support responded to me quickly when I asked questions. Thank you!
The Painted Heirloom
Google | Lucky
5 March 16, 2020 UPDATE - STILL saving a lot of money! For those complaining about the Pirate Ship Rates vs. Shopify, you're obviously NOT using Cubic Rated Boxes. USPS 1096L = Tier 1 Cubic USPS BOX 4 = Tier 2 USPS 1097 & 1092 = Tier 3 USPS 1095 & USPS Shoe Box = Tier 4 Uline (or similar) 12x12x6 Box = Tier 5 Use THESE boxes, enter dimensions, and SAVE money. Bottom Line - pack your items into the smallest boxes you can find, and use Pirate Ship. Funny story, I only discovered today there is a Tier 5 - even tho Pirate Ship clearly indicates there is one. lol It's just the USPS doesn't have their own Tier 5 box. I had to fill a 12x12x6 box, ran it through Pirate Ship, and it came up Cubic. I looked at the chart - duh, yeah, there is a Tier 5. Anyway, Tier 5 Cubic for me was $13.96; UPS would have been $14+; Regional Box B was $16+; regular Priority was close $24+. So, for this single order, saved $1+ today using Pirate Ship USPS Cubic rates vice UPS Ground, and the customer will get it a few days earlier. FYI, a USPS Box 7 is TOO big Cubic, but can be cut down from it's original 12x12x8 to make into 12x12x6 - which WOULD be .5 Cubic :) Grab a power box cutter off Amazon and start saving money! :) I am also using Bespoke Shopify App tailored and configured for me to pull in Cubic Rates to display to my customers. I'm passing the savings on to them. Min from Bespoke has AWESOME customer service! I would agree, having to transfer some date, go through multiple screens, etc, can be rather convoluted. --Original Review This app is a game changer, really! I thought USPS Priority Regional Rates were cheap - wow on the USPS Priority Cubic Rates - JUST WOW! I should have installed this app from Day 1 - seriously. Where this app will save you money is using USPS *CUBIC* Priority vs. "regular" USPS Priority. We sell small pint size jars of paint. They're small, and heavy. But, I can fit 3 into a USPS Priority Box 4, that weigh 4 lbs, 12 oz, and ship from Florida to Washington State for $8.92 via USPS Priority Cubic. The same shipment would be $11.20 in the smallest USPS Regional Rate Priority Box, $12.80 in USPS Medium Flat Rate Box (FYI, 3 pints of paint won't fit into a Medium Flat Rate Box) or $20.40 regular USPS Priority! $20.40 for REGULAR PRIORITY! That's an $11 savings. We also offer $4.99 shipping for orders over $75, this will help us save money when we supplement shipping costs with our customers. For example - just jammed (actually fits in nicely) 4+ LBS of products into a 1092 bound from Pensacola FL to Arizona. USPS Priority was $17+. UPS was $18+. USPS Cubic Priority was $10.78! That saved us $7 for just that one shipment, and it will get there same time as regular USPS Priority. As I said above, where this app will save you money is using USPS *CUBIC* Priority vs. "regular" USPS Priority. We set up all regular USPS Priority Boxes that are allowed to be used with Cubic shipping in the app. Now, we just use a "saved box", select modify when generating a label so we can accurately weigh it. Not that it matters to me or cost what weight is, as cubic shipping is based on size, not weight (although there is a max weight limit, but good luck trying to hit that in the smaller USPS boxes). Just try it out - it's FREE!! Is there ANY way to have my customers view all the rates available? Shopify is SOOOOOO frustrating!! The ONLY reason I would possible give it 4 stars is because I want to pass the savings onto my customers. I do not wish to make one single penny off of shipping. If we can show and offer these rates to our customers, that would be amazing. Everyone would win. No need for the Post Office to get any more money than they need! You need to team up with Bespoke Shipping! They're smart and together you two could dominate shipping. Seriously.
Kimono Grip
Google | Lucky
5 March 15, 2020 I save around 50 cents to a dollar on each package shipped using Pirate Ship rather than Shopify. For example: .7 pound package on Shopify: $3.93 Pirate Ship: 3.21 Saved 72 cents. Nearly a dollar. Small things that add up. After 100 orders I save 50-100 bucks on shipping. That's 50-100 bucks that I would have wasted. Pirate ship is the best. Shopify UI is a little bit easier obviously but both are easy and for the money I save with Pirate Ship. Never going back. Thank you Pirate Ship.
WayvDesigns
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 8, 2020 Total lifesaver! I've been selling online for 20 years and believe me - I have used just about every shipping platform and ecommerce plugin out there, but this one takes the cake. It is super simple yet offers everything and more other paid apps do - like reporting - except for FREE! I LOVE that it is exceptionally straightforward, I didn't have to dig around help guides or watch videos to figure out how it works or what all it can do. It makes sense upfront and it just WORKS! I was also relieved to find that the spreadsheet doesn't have to be overly complicated or formatted *juuuust right* like other services that can be SUPER finicky. The only issue some people might have is it is only USPS; which is fine for me, I don't use anything else because in my experience USPS is cheaper, faster, and more convenient for customers so I honestly don't need integration with 200+ other carriers. Thank you thank you THANK YOU so much Pirate Ship - you've made a difference!
Nickie's Knickers
Google | Lucky
5 Dec. 21, 2019 This app is a total life saver for my business. So easy to use and set up. Love how easy it was to integrate with my Shopify and shipping has never been this easy. Thank you for having this available to the small businesses like mine.
Pavalon
Google | Lucky
5 Dec. 2, 2019 This app is amazing and so is the service, I can not thank them enough especially Matt for leading me through the shipping process step by step. and they do have a great sense of humor!
Scrapbooking for Less
Google | Lucky
5 Dec. 2, 2019 Hands down the best company we have ever worked with in the past 15 years of being in e-commerce. I can't recommend them enough. Their program is top notch and always quick to answer any little questions we have had.
Canine's World
Google | Lucky
5 Nov. 13, 2019 I absolutely love it. Easy to use and I can see my rates plus gets a discount. Saves time from walking to usps office. And costumer service is fast Which I love. Try the app like really try it 100% You wont regret it. ❤ something I do wish is I could do is buy labels from other carriers besides USPS like FedEx, UPS, DHL since that would be all in 1 app. Still love this app.
Clear Choice Aquatics
Google | Lucky
5 Nov. 3, 2019 how is this free? I ship 10 to 20 packages a day with a mix of USPS and UPS. I was using shopify but the lack of a scan form wasn't working for me so I moved to stamps.com. Then stamps.com locked my account because of a security issue on a sunday when I do my shipping from friday - sunday afternoon (so around 40 packages). since I couldn't call them and didn't want to wait I heard about this on the shopify community forum and decided to give it a try. The bulk printing would be good if all my packages were the same however they are all different so I have to go one by one but for my volume it's not a huge issue. Overall this is an awesome app and I hope that it stays free. Oh and theirs Priority cubic pricing which is going to take a chunk of my UPS shipping away so that's just the icing on the cake. first shipments are going out tomorrow so we will see but I don't think there will be any issues.
LGC Tees
Google | Lucky
5 Oct. 7, 2019 Probably the most underrated shipping app on here. It's incredibly easy to create labels and cheaper than paid apps which I thought was interesting. Honestly the only thing it's really missing in my eyes is the ability to combine orders.
LaQ Blocks | Educational Products
Google | Lucky
4 Sept. 26, 2019 Great app and customer service. Works great for domestic shipping, but not the best for international shipping since we need to fill out a Customs Form and there is no way to preview before paying for it. A preview for all the labels (shipping and Customs Form) would be very very helpful. Will gladly move from 4 to 5 stars when it becomes available. :) Thank you!
paperwhimsy
Google | Lucky
5 Sept. 24, 2019 Wow. I happened to come across this app in the shopify e-university when trying to find out how to create a scan form with my labels (which, spoiler alert - shopify does not have this capability) and someone mentioned Pirate Ship. I downloaded it last night through the app store, created an account, verified my email address and this morning I created shipping labels and a scan form without a hitch. Right now, I'm going with an A+ for this app. It's freaking FREE, guys (you just pay for your postage which is, as they claim, the lowest rates available). And the reporting is pretty awesome. I can't tell you how much of a deep dive it is in shopify to find out about packages shipped and were they delivered. With Pirate Ship the reports are quite extensive. Well done!
SheMugs
Google | Lucky
5 Sept. 23, 2019 Just what I was looking for! Because Shopify doesn't offer a USPS Scan Form by default I have been struggling to find an app that doesn't charge a monthly fee just so I could access this BASIC feature. PirateShip has saved the day! Thank you!!
Claribelskincare.com
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 28, 2019 I love this app. Not only does it save me money on some of my shipments, but it allows me to create shipping labels for custom orders. Thank you!
WristWidget®
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 6, 2019 It's a great solution for USPS shipping. It gives the best rates to ship to Canada. Support is quick, and fun to work with. It integrates well with our Shopify and eBay stores, and I love that you can click to print label from the customer order page. It saves "ship from" addresses so can select from dropdown. I wish it provided service for UPS, FedEx, DHLeCommerce, DHLexpress as well, then it would be the only shipping app you'd ever need!
dreamStudiodesigns
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 4, 2019 Pirate Ship is the App I didn't know how bad I needed it until I tried it! I tried dozens of others, only Pirate Ship delivers (pun intended) Plus I get to talk like a pirate whenever i ship and order Arrrgg!
The Bath Bomb Outlet
Google | Lucky
5 June 12, 2019 I've tried this and Shopify's Basic shipping rates on several different shipments. I'm saving approx. $1 with Pirate Ship on larger packages, smaller ones have a difference of a few cents. Just going to stick with Pirate Ship for now. Works perfectly :)
Carrie Bloedel
Google | Lucky
5 May 25, 2019 UPDATE 5/19: This App Rocks. The customer service is outstanding. I was reading a 1 star and 2 star review. Apparently they've never used another shipping app for if they had, they'd realize how great this one is. Most of the Apps on Shopify are awful. This one is truly awesome. It works the way it is supposed to, you save money without having to pay any monthly premiums, they always add new features to make it easier to use, and customer service rocks. If all the Apps on Shopify were like this, we'd be able to sell a lot more - sadly they are not. UPDATE 11/18: Just keeps getting better. They make improvements all the time. Easiest BY FAR and cheapest BY FAR. If you aren't using this app, you should be. They had a few things that needed to be tweaked and they did that immediately. Can't ask for anything more than that. They were even willing to go the extra mile to customize something for me - way beyond what they needed to do. Now this is the kind of service that everyone is looking for! Pirate Ship has the cheapest rates. I can't imagine why anyone would use any other app because the only one that truly has the cheapest price, regardless of whether you send 1 package a day or 100, is Pirate Ship. I have tried them all. I have tried Shippo and many others who claimed they had the cheapest rates but they don't. In the case of Shippo its business model changed after a year of doing business with them but they didn't even notify me or honor its commitment to customers who were guaranteed the lowest rates - now they just provide a discount. Who wants to do business with a company that doesn't honor its commitment and isn't transparent? Not me, I can tell you. Totally unacceptable. I wouldn't waste your time on any other apps since I've gone through them all and FINALLY have found the cheapest rates. Plus, the app works well. And, when I say cheapest rates I mean as compared to Shippo, on average, $.50 cents a label plus Shippo's $.05 fee per label - total $.55 cheaper per label. This really adds up over time. And, customer service has been great. Pirate Ship is really the only shipping app you should consider!
RENWILLS
Google | Lucky
2 May 11, 2019 The app is not horrible, But has three issues that pushed me back to using Shopify shipping. 1. this app does not import your product weight forcing you to always modify your shipping weight. Shopify, all my products and shipping material have accurate weights so there is nothing to modify. 2. Have to navigate multiple screens to get to the point of printing your shipping label. Shopify, it's all in one screen with a pop up for your printer. 3. Tested 5 packages and Shopify and Pirate Shop were 100% the same shipping rates. In summary, because of the multiple screens, modifications and same pricing the logical choice for me was to go back to Shopify for my shipping options.
MileHighPawducts
Google | Lucky
5 April 28, 2019 I love this App. It works perfectly, the app owners are amazing to work with and its MUCH better than the standard shipping platform that shopify has. Keep up the great work!
Force Flyers - Great Drones, Great Prices
Google | Lucky
1 April 8, 2019 Stay away from these guys, they will rip you off. Holding $2,000 in refunds they won't return to me.
Hop of the Month Club
Google | Lucky
5 March 27, 2019 Works perfectly! I get great rates on postage- and occasioanlly get USPS refunds through Pirate Ship as well. Super quick to answer questions as well. Love it!
Loving Essential Oils
Google | Lucky
5 March 9, 2019 I am loving the app, it is easy to use and the savings is just amazing. I left my other app I had been with for 3 years because it was just too expensive, I am saving $100's each month with Pirate Ship. I am so happy to have found your app, and that it is free!! Being a small company, every penny counts for me so I really appreciate having access to Pirate Ship. I also love all the help, documentation they offer and saving tips that took me over 5 years shipping experience to learn. In Pirate Ship documentation they breakdown how to ship the cheapest way, super valuable information, especially for newbies! Keep up the great work!
Rock Paper Shears
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 17, 2019 This app and the customer service from Pirate Ship goes far beyond our expectations. Strongly recommended.
Authentic Bags Only
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 2, 2019 I have been using Pirateship for 2 years now. Great customer service, and they are always upgrading for the better. Thanks Bjorn. https://www.authenticbagsonly.com
Simply Candles & Gifts
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 29, 2018 The shipping rates offered by Pirate Ship were not cheaper than the Shopify Basic Plan. I selected the same size box, same weights, and same locations, but Pirate Shipping was approx. 30% higher.
HighZer0 Electronics
Google | Lucky
5 Dec. 1, 2018 Incredible app! Exactly as advertised, great support, etc! I do hope in the future they can expand integration sites. It would be nice to integrate with your own shipping accounts if possible. https://highzer0electronics.com/
Warrior Unlimited Apparel, LLC
Google | Lucky
5 Dec. 1, 2018 Great app and a must have for your store! it's easy to use a makes shipping a lot easier for internal and external orders.
mousemade
Google | Lucky
5 Nov. 26, 2018 I was already using Pirate Ship on their website and it was really easy and quick to use. I jumped on the app as soon as I saw it because it integrates well with orders. Now I can take care of shipping very quickly. Absolutely love Pirate Ship.
The UniDragon
Google | Lucky
5 Oct. 3, 2018 Ok, if you think you are going to get rates that are insanely low right off the bat, chances are you'll be disappointed, BUT--and it's a big but, they are always at least matched to the lowest price in my experience with them. I sell on many channels, the prices they offer on items at or below 1lb is generally even with Shopify, Ebay, Amazon et all, but never more. They are at least equal on shipping light items, as the items get heavier it seems like Pirate Ship really does save money. . .While I have yet to find good savings on shipping on Pirate Ship compared with my main three channels--they actually do save me money over Bonanza (who charges to ship with them), Etsy, USPS.com. If a customer from out of state wants something delivered, I can offer it because of Pirate Ship at a reasonable rate. Very useful app, no upcharge. While I disagree with the understanding that many have that they save a fortune over other possibilities, they are always at least equal with the lowest--and they do allow manual entries meaning that even if you sell through channels (including in person) you'll save money on postage--and it can add up quick.