Store name Rating Posted Review text
The Ancient Home
Google | Lucky
1 June 29, 2022 We used this app for years, they monetized their old customers raising the prices considerably 2-3 years ago when they got a new CEO. Service haven't improved much, just a monetization technique. The app is not worth the price at all and haven been slowing down our page for all these years paying a great sum. Also they make it very difficult to remove the app and all scripts in the shopify store, there is no information readily available how to uninstall their scripts.
Halo & Horns
Google | Lucky
1 June 21, 2022 Our advice would be to check out the other 1 star and 2 star reviews. We have over paid for this app after cancelling for 12 months. A total of $1680. No recourse at all from this company , just "Its in our Terms & Conditions"
Zentana
Google | Lucky
2 June 16, 2022 Really liked this app. But I noticed they have changed the pricing since November and I have been overpaying for Privy for over 6 months. Luckily I am able to use Klaviyo for most of the features I need.
Hystar
Google | Lucky
1 June 10, 2022 Absolutely terrible platform with outrageous fees. They will bind you into a contract for months and force you to pay a termination fee if you decide to switch. You can get the same features in this app for free with other apps on the store. Do yourself a favor and avoid this overpriced company. - Active User of Them
Terra-Core Fitness
Google | Lucky
1 May 6, 2022 Pricing structure is a lie. We canceled last month due to them trying to charge us $150 to keep the service.. This was outrageous so we canceled immediately. One month later they charge us $150 and the App is UNINSTALLED IN OUR STORE AND WE HAVE NOT USED IT IN A MONTH. Tried to contact various ways and NO ONE responds. Terrible Terrible app. We are currently in the process of reporting them to Shopify in hope they will give us our money back.
Love Japan For Life
Google | Lucky
1 May 6, 2022 I'm just going to keep this short and sweet. Test everything before you commit to a subscription. Their email capabilities may cause more problems than actual benefits, in which may even negatively impact your business. Sales team is too pushy and doesn't seem to care about your needs or concerns. All they care about is upgrading you to their latest plans and keep calling me non stop. Bad experience overall period.
CMC Gold
Google | Lucky
1 May 6, 2022 Terrible experience so far let's hope it gets better. Have been charged for a month when we specifically said we weren't ready to use it until a certain date. then have asked questions and haven't even had the decency to reply yet. My hope is that it's just that one individual who is a bad egg and not the entire team.
MiGuard
Google | Lucky
3 May 5, 2022 the dashboard functionality is so poor. I have to click at least 3 times on each button to reach where i want to. Limited features. Limited integrations with shopify. Limited flexibility in designing. Switching back to klaviyo would be a better option for sure.
GRIPSTIC
Google | Lucky
2 May 4, 2022 The app has some issue. Trying to cancel the subscription and nearly impossible. No contact phone, the reps leave the company making it impossible to cancel. So, if you use this app plan on 2-3 months of back and forth trying to get them to cancel the account.
David Hicken
Google | Lucky
1 April 25, 2022 Beware - you will get ripped off! Signed up for a $15 per month plan because I only needed popups. Several months later, I see a $60 charge on my account. I contacted support to ask them about this, and they said they had sent an email out (which I never received) which said that their pricing tiers were changing based on the amount of customer emails. Very underhanded and shady if you ask me, and I'm sure this happened to a lot of people. I've canceled my account and will never deal with them again.
Pseudo Force Studio
Google | Lucky
2 April 23, 2022 I have 1,000 people who signed up for email. Only 300 are mailable and 220 can be texted. It is very frustrating that I can have an offer pop up in exchange for email and text, customers sign up, but since they didn't click the stupid check box (that isn't required by the customer), I can't contact them?! WHAT A WASTE.
99-j
Google | Lucky
1 April 18, 2022 After years paying $20/m they suddenly request $70/m and froze my popup without any notice. Terrible support and experience. Get the same app for free from your email provider (I use Klavyio)
Pure Feast
Google | Lucky
1 April 14, 2022 This app charges based on the number of mailable contacts that are added to your account, even if you aren't using the Privy pop-up to add the contacts. So, your account will continue to grow as they sync any contacts gained by Shopify through sales or sign-ups on your site. We found this out recently when we paused our Privy campaign but then were unexpectedly hit with a price increase because our number of mailable contacts had grown (thanks to Privy pulling Shopify data into our Privy account, completely unbeknownst to us). So even though we weren't using their email capture feature, they still increased their monthly fee... This was not the original terms of service that we agreed to when we started using this app; we have never used it for email or sms, Klaviyo is far superior for that purpose.
The Speedy Cheetah
Google | Lucky
1 April 13, 2022 I started with the free version of this app a very long time ago for just a pop-up. Works great, but OMG the pricing is now a disaster. I am hounded constantly to add their email marketing and now with only 2 weeks notice a 3.5 times monthly price increase ($20 to $70). It is just nuts. I was also told the $20/month price was "locked in" forever. I use MailChimp and they include a free pop-up so going to drop Privy after many years. I really suggest staying away from Privy as everything seemed to change for the worse after they were acquired by a new company.
99Jersey
Google | Lucky
1 April 8, 2022 WORST SUPPORT EVERRRRR After 1 hour speaking with them trying to sync my account to a new account, Andres gave me complete missleading instructions and eventually DELETING MY STORE!! With all my data and the chat closed because the account is deleted. No way to communicate, no way to recover. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
Vincent and Barn
Google | Lucky
3 April 2, 2022 The more I try and use it the more features I find either don't works or don't work as perhaps Privy suggest, shame, it used to be a great company but they seem to be focusing on new products although I rarely see them rather than fixing all the glitches in the basic system. I still have an unresolved issue
yesUndress
Google | Lucky
1 March 27, 2022 Canceled Privy 6 months ago. But it continues to withdraw money from the bank, also it’s double amount, 60USD! The support tell different stories everyday. The app already debited money from the bank account 12 times. Promised refund, but it’s not! Close that scammers immediately!
Crypto Clothing Factory
Google | Lucky
1 March 16, 2022 What a stupid app. I wanted to use it to send welcome emails with 15% off discount code but the minimum time limit is 1 hour. By then the customer is long gone. The developers of this app must be brain dead.
Big Head Bob Shop
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 28, 2022 This app worked well for a few months. When my free trial ended (wasn't aware it was a trial or it would end) I wasn't notified. This app is about notifying people and THEY DIDN'T NOTIFY ME! I had over 1500 visitors to my website in one week and checked to see why I wasn't getting their emails and this poor company didn't send me a pop up email or sms to tell me I need to now pay for the service, which I would have done. Crazy right. There are other services out there dont' make the same mistake I did. After telling them this happened they said nothing we can do would you like to pay for the upgrade. Not great customer service.
Kindhood
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 13, 2022 We used the pop up function for free for years. Now it is significantly overpriced. The app significantly reduced website speed even when it wasn't functioning.
Aztec Clothing
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 9, 2022 tripled the subscription price without warning me. It seems like an issue for alot of customers. I used to pay 55usd, they increased this without warning to 165usd. When i asked them to cancel my subscription and refund me I was told that this was not possible. don't waste your time cheaper alternatives elsewhere
La Pluie Handcrafted
Google | Lucky
2 Feb. 5, 2022 I have been using this app over a year but recently I have had an issue with my conversion campaign people kept getting error. I had no idea the problem was going on until some new website visitors used contact form to inform me that Spin and Win is not working. No idea for how long. They fixed but it happened again and again. Last drop was without sending notification they increased price from 15 to 30.. For small businesses there are many options out there for same function and better price. Privy has such a limited templates for emails. None were ever useful. I had to design template on other app all the time and then upload.
Brozzian Spices
Google | Lucky
2 Feb. 2, 2022 If you're a smaller business and think this will be a game changer, it won't be. I noticed no significant improvement after downloading privy. Get a different email app, there are way cheaper and better ones out there. The popups and cross sells are nice features, but not worth the price you will pay for them as they charge you for each "email subscriber" you get, even if you don't use their email services. If you reach out to support they usually just copy and paste a section of their policy in there and suggest that your account could be banned. Safe to say my experience and many others hasn't been good with Privy. I wish I could keep it for the popups only, but it isn't worth the money. I can't believe how many people have downloaded this, it's insane the manipulation they have. Also the support is subpar at best, honestly, it's pretty terrible. Download at your own risk, who knows, maybe it will help you a lot.
Gentec Labs
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 14, 2022 They cancelled my account because they dont allow services for "Pharmaceutical Sales", except our product is not Pharmaceutical, its a gym supplement which contains only natural, legal ingredients.
Thenextgardener
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 5, 2022 The service is terrible. Tried to message and email them hundreds of times and no real response for my issues.
Banele Coffee
Google | Lucky
3 Dec. 20, 2021 still, early days yet..so far so good but I think the template options are not enough. There are quite a lot out there.
fitformorestore
Google | Lucky
3 Dec. 17, 2021 It's an okay app. The $15 is a bit steep to justify for the features it offers for that price. The emails were cumbersome to say the least. This is on my list to delete now that the heavy holiday traffic season is over because the value just isn't there for me.
USB & MORE
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 16, 2021 Absolute crazy been using the app since Feb 2021 and sending over 20k emails per day , 3 days ago they FORCED me to sign a 3 month contract , the very next day my account is blocked because it has not conformed to regulations .YOU BUILT MY DATABASE FROM SUBSCRIBERS !!!! HOW CAN I NOW BE AT FAULT , THIS IS JUST AS GOOD AS STEALING MY MONEY I WILL ISSUE A STOP PAY AT PAYPAL !!!
Bows 2 Fros
Google | Lucky
3 Dec. 14, 2021 The app is okay but for me to be paying $15 dollars is a bit extreme. Sometimes emails aren't going out when it should be and it sucks.
Arabella Crystals
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 14, 2021 You'll get someone blowing up your phone, email, facebook, instagram, etc as soon as you sign up. It was really annoying and that reason alone made me delete it.