Store name Rating Posted Review text
Niyama Yoga Wellness
Google | Lucky
2 June 18, 2021 This app is great for pop-ups and i used the free version for almost 2 years. i then upgraded to the paid version which is combined with emails, and moved my email marketing over from Mailchimp. Unfortunately the Privy email marketing aspect of the app leaves a lot to be desired. Analytics are not very deep, and there isn't a way to cue any new email sign up from the store (not via a pop-up) to receive the welcome series. It integrates well with the pop-ups but is lacking in other ways. So i will be exploring other options. Not worth the monthly cost for pop-ups only, and not good enough as an email marketing app. I wish there was a cost-effective way to just use the pop-ups because it's too expensive to pay this fee and another email marketing app fee. Disappointed.
Gravgear
Google | Lucky
3 June 7, 2021 Money heist alert!! Be super aware before you activate the paid plan. Privy has the most ridiculous policy that says, removing the app does not automatically stop the billing. We tried the app and uninstalled it the same month, the billing keeps rolling. Privy support will not refund all the extra charges, although they can clearly see that we didn’t take advantage of the app at all after removing the app, Yes, we are responsible for not carefully reading the policy but Privy can easily correct this by verifying and refunding full payment. Their policy doesn't make sense at all and it almost sounds like a trap. UPDATE from 1 star to 3 star: After seeing the initial review, Privy's billing team verified our last login to the app is actually same as we claimed(last year), they refunded all the remaining amount. The whole experience can be a lot better should their support team make the proper refund in the first place. I wish Privy will consider changing the "removing app doesn't auto remove billing" policy as that is still a big trap to any Shopify store owner. Or at least alert the owners with email or something after the app removal.
Skinfood Organics
Google | Lucky
2 June 3, 2021 Surprised Privy's prompting me for a review since they have just tripled what I was paying. It's well integrated into my site it so I am going to pay (a logic which I suppose they were banking on?) but it seems almost unethical to jack prices up to such a degree.
Xanne Fran Studios
Google | Lucky
1 May 28, 2021 Privy just prompted me to write a review after cornering me into paying more than double the cost of my original plan. I purchased and set up privy over a year ago to install pop ups and manage my email list and a few days ago they just shut all of my pop ups and embedded forms off because it's "no longer included in my plan". Since I paid a coder to integrate privy's platform for me, and I'm not in the position to pay yet another professional to set up yet another marketing app, I'm going to go ahead and pay double for the exact same features because I really have no choice. Functionality is pretty good, but I've got a bad taste in my mouth from being mislead on pricing.
Woodsy Wicks
Google | Lucky
1 May 26, 2021 I find this app hard to use. I also notice that my emails go straight to junk mail or never get sent. I don’t think it’s worth it.
Gossypine
Google | Lucky
1 May 23, 2021 Don't like the new 250 contacts plan. All I really need this app for is a coupon popup and follow-up email with a discount code. The page views plan was better. I'd rather use MailChimp for email marketing.
Vego Garden
Google | Lucky
2 May 18, 2021 In general it's a good app. However, it's insane that they don't let you enter your campaign when you need to upgrade your plan. Basically you are still paying but you can't view/edit your campaign any more. The pricing for pageview doesn't make sense too. It won't fit unless you are a shop with very minimal traffic.
Nature's Calming Beauty
Google | Lucky
1 May 13, 2021 They changed their pricing plan and are no longer an affordable option for their niche (small businesses). It was a VERY big jump in price with only one paid plan to choose from. Now I'm scrambling to find something else, transfer all my contacts, rebuild all my sequences and emails. It's an expensive mess. Meanwhile, they paused all my campaigns, so my welcome series campaign that happens to be blowing up (we're talking thousands of adds) is paused right in the middle. Horrible what they have done.
DiffLand
Google | Lucky
1 May 13, 2021 No more free plan. Faulse ad! Too expensive plans for small businesses! No more free plan. Faulse ad! Too expensive plans for small businesses!
Bizbriz
Google | Lucky
1 May 13, 2021 Increased their price from $10 a month to $13 a month and now to $30 a month. For a small business it's a hard hit. Very disappointed and it's a great time to switch to Klaviyo.
Spencer Jane
Google | Lucky
1 May 13, 2021 The company charged me after I cancelled the service. Customer service was rude and unhelpful. They told me that cancelling the service on Shopify doesn't cancel the subscription and that not utilizing the software was not enough for a refund. I didn't know I independently had to go to the site and cancel the service.
Eaziby Adult Funstore
Google | Lucky
1 April 24, 2021 I recently uninstalled Privy App for 2 months now but I'm currently still being charged for it. This is totally unacceptable, can you please help me rectify this mistake. Thank You
Elana Kattan
Google | Lucky
1 April 23, 2021 I used this app to have initial sign up by customers and it work great. But when I upgraded so I can use it to send newsletters, I was totally lost. Impossible to work with. I am going back to Seguno.
GiGi-L
Google | Lucky
1 April 23, 2021 Very bad preforming with my store !! i lost a sales because a bug from your app !!! The bug it was with sensitiveness !!!!
Fibermerix Fashion
Google | Lucky
1 April 16, 2021 Up till now nobody from this company can explain to me how someone else got hold of my account, use it and ratcheted up my monthly bill. Just sickening.
Stephanie Marcella
Google | Lucky
2 April 2, 2021 I can’t say I love this app; I am new to everything here and so it taking a little while to get the grasp of everything. But what frustrates me the most is I keep trying to create my newsletters from my MacBook, and this app refuses to scroll up so I can get to the bottom of the newsletter or whatever I am working on to see the whole page. I thought it was my MacBook, but my scroll feature works everywhere else but on here. I have to keep jumping off of my laptop to try to work off iPad, so I’m not digging the complex situation I find myself in . I have worked off of other website platforms, so I’m not a total novice, but I just don’t find this to be that easy. Maybe I’d feel better if the app worked appropriately on my MacBook so that I could streamline my job here. It’s making me want to cancel my subscription.
Made on Jupiter
Google | Lucky
1 March 26, 2021 First problem I encountered is the layout is pretty messed up when the recovery email is sent out. And the support team took long time to respond (comparing with other Shopify apps' responding time). We agreed for $10 compensation. Hope everything will be fine even though they have no idea how long I can expect the problem to be fixed. Second day, we had a few abandoned carts, it turns out it failed to send out the recovering email. Now, I'm still waiting for the support team to respond me. The data they are showing on the app is not very accurate as well...
Ailu Swim
Google | Lucky
3 March 24, 2021 Somewhat easy to use. Like the features to collect emails with a nice and simple design. A good option for beginners.
The Vegan Company UK
Google | Lucky
3 March 22, 2021 The UX of this app is quite poor - it is really not that easy to navigate or create campaigns from scratch with no prior knowledge. I am committed to spending the time to learn as it seems like its features are fantastic and once you learn it then it will be very useful but my patience is wearing thin with it's ease to use.
Caim & Able
Google | Lucky
1 March 18, 2021 ive even paid for a subscription yet the UX is clunky, its impossible to send a campaign. Will delete one my payment period ends
Micacoco
Google | Lucky
1 March 17, 2021 Perhaps this app is really good like all the five-star ratings. However, if you would like to uninstall or remove the app, there will be leftover codes that slow your web down or, rarely, break your site. And they will not provide ANY guidance of where the code is or how to remove them. Install at your own risk.
Good Golf Company
Google | Lucky
1 March 3, 2021 This is a terrible app, designing an email is quite possibly the worst method of torture a human could endure.
Verified Shungite
Google | Lucky
2 Feb. 13, 2021 The popup appears intermittently. Tech support is unresponsive, leaving site in jeopardy. Uninstalling.
STRONGERWELLNESS.COM
Google | Lucky
3 Feb. 11, 2021 Having some issues with branding our emails. When the app sends email confirmations and newsletters they come with the Privy brand. I believe this is not good for any business and I am surprised no one else has complained . We have been chatting to support for almost 2 days now and still not clear answer. Not very happy with this, plus a bit expensive for the service.
Harford Road Liquors
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 10, 2021 Their plan prices are not fair, they charge you based on your monthly views. Fuck you I deleted this app btw
PPN FR
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 3, 2021 !!! STAY AWAY !!! It's scam for no-brainers. Stay away!!! They give you some "free" staff, then ok, you agree to pay $30/month. You spend your time to write a letters, to design texts. After one month, they ask you $350/month because of "popup views". Really guys? They told you "write our sales to get a better pricing", they give you $100 off. They attribute orders being "because of Privy activity" but it's not. But anyway $250/month it's too much. I never write negative reviews. But I want you guys to stay away from these scammers.
Rebel Goddess Cosmetics
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 31, 2021 worst app ever, collects customers numbers but you cant text them. i want a refund. easy to set up but thats it. mail chimp is free for email.
PoojaProducts.com
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 28, 2021 Even after the discount period is barred, Discount has been activated because of this app. Beware while using this one!
Scale Motorsport
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 25, 2021 I agree with Cjartcanada everything about this popup software is confusing and difficult to get working, if I can't figure this out in another 60 minutes I will be terminating my account with Privy. How did they get away with this, its awful!
Cjartcanada
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 20, 2021 I don't find it very user friendly, with a confusing interface. Also making me to upgrade (and pay) basically because of my view count so will be uninstalling. I have gotten an insane amount of emails since installing and a phone call. I personally fine that aggressive and annoying. I know they are trying to help but I found it overwhelming and confusing. I get how it can be great for some but not my type of business I guess.