Store name Rating Posted Review text
Wearbands
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 4, 2021 I have been running businesses for 30+ years, and I can say, without a doubt, that no single business I have ever worked with has damaged the reputation of my company more than ShipMonk. Make no mistake, ShipMonk is a sales company, and cares very little for their customers once they have signed you up. I strongly urge you to go back through Shopify’s reviews from 2020 and early 2021. Recently, the reviews are all “miraculously” five-stars, and do not sound authentic….sound a bit more like advertisements than reviews. Who knows, maybe these vendors have had experiences with a ShipMonk from an alternate universe. And i would not buy the "COVID, COVID, COVID, we have addressed those issues" line. A Zebra does not change its stripes. Here are my experiences…judge for yourself and beware before getting in bed with these guys. Also check out their reviews on Google. All of my experiences outlined below are well-documented, and if you check out other reviews, you will see similarly bad experiences, though maybe not in as much detail! ShipMonk’s systems are poorly designed, their internal communications are terrible, their email system is very inefficient and frustrating to use, and their customer service is atrocious, both in terms of response time, getting accurate information and maybe most importantly, attitude. It is extremely slow…be prepared to wait sometimes days for a response, which is often unhelpful or inaccurate, and then wait again for their response to your response, etc., etc. Many of their customer service reps are poorly trained, often not knowing answers to basic questions or, worse, delivering incorrect information, and it is almost as if they have been trained to take any opportunity to blame the customer for any issues that arise. All of this adds up to a terrible customer experience, a lot of frustration and stress, and often requires hours each week to sort out their mess, all the while fielding phone calls from unhappy customers due to shipping errors and delayed shipments. A fulfillment center should be taking fulfillment issues off your desk, so you can focus on your business. With ShipMonk, hours a week are spent double checking their work or trying to get them to do what they are supposed to do on time and without being asked. I was with ShipMonk for about a year and a half. They initially flat out misrepresented their capabilities to me. I see from WAMA Underwear’s review, that ShipMonk is still habitually misrepresenting their services in order to sign up new clients. Like WAMA’s, their misrepresentation to us was not discovered, of course, until all of our inventory had arrived at their warehouse. They made very little effort, or displayed any urgency, to rectify the situation, and made no offer to reduce their cost of service, which went up substantially due to their misrepresentation of what they could and could not do, and at what price. All the while, their auto-payment systems keeps pulling funds from your account, while getting any kind of solution drags on and on. I gave them multiple opportunities, and tried to work with them, to make things right, but they were clearly not interested and could not be bothered. It seems their sole focus is signing up new clients, and not providing good service with a good attitude to the clients they have signed up. They have almost an adversarial relationship with their customers, as if you are just a necessary evil to generate revenue and grow. We make and sell an exercise systems. ShipMonk sent our customers, among other things, a dress, a purse, a sweatshirt and tap shoes…yes, tap shoes. They always send you a form apology email, letting you know how they are working to see that this does not happen again…until it happens again. Mispicks, missing items and wrong sizes were also a common problem. Their time estimates for special projects are not to be taken seriously. They almost never meet their own estimate, and instead, deliver excuse after excuse. You cannot rely on their status updates to communicate with your customers, because you have no idea if they will do what they said they will do when they said they will do it, leading to upset customers who rightfully blame you. The costs they charged us for special projects were grossly over-charged, and only after I discovered them and brought it to their attention, did they acknowledge as much. To this day, it is not clear to me whether we were ever refunded the overcharges, and we spent months, yes months, just trying to establish a fair charge for the work (we decided to leave before that was resolved). They provide very little transparency in regards to their costs and pricing…you have to dig into their reporting for the information. Though they have many shipping options, they are rarely the most cost effective. Since leaving, we have found significantly cheaper and more cost-effective rates, faster shipping and improved reliability. The attractive shipping options they quote are before carrier surcharges, which can be as much as 50-80% of the shipping cost itself. They partnered with several carriers during our time with them, who were flat out incompetent, lost packages, did not provide adequate tracking, etc. And ShipMonk will not allow you to follow up on your own to get tracking updates from carriers directly, so you must suffer through waiting for ShipMonk to follow up, which takes up valuable time and rarely delivers any actionable information. ShipMonk does not seem to understand, or more likely does not really care, that they are representing you, their customer, in the marketplace. When they screw up, or take days to get back to you, or ship tap shoes to your customers, the customer does not blame ShipMonk…they only know that you screwed up their order. Such is life with ShipMonk. I hope you find this information valuable. I thought it was important to share my experience in detail with you, to expose what I believe to be a very poorly run and untrustworthy company in the fulfillment space. There are plenty of fulfillment companies in the marketplace, and if you do your homework, you can likely find ones who pride themselves on customer service, and doing their job competently as an integral part of your business. And if something does go wrong, will give it and you the attention you deserve. In our experience, ShipMonk is not one of those companies. They are a sales company trying to grow as fast as they can, and you, as their customer, are of little consequence.
Dang Foods
Google | Lucky
5 July 7, 2021 ShipMonk has been a really great partner with excellent customer service. Like everywhere, last year with the pandemic and then a blow out November/December, and then lingering effects of COVID-19 there were several unavoidable issues and delays but it is very clear ShipMonk had the leadership and strategy on how to come out of it and put in a lot of new tactics to make sure they are in a better position next year. They are continually improving and making things better which is something important with any partner. We recommend them!
Fables Den Shop
Google | Lucky
5 July 5, 2021 Love the customer service and the amount of support I received during my onboarding process! I'm anxiety-prone especially when it comes to getting started with something new and ShipMonk has been a great help...plus good vibes all around! The software is easy to use as well and has everything I need.
A Ma Maniere
Google | Lucky
5 July 1, 2021 This was the first 3PL we have partnered with. We initially chose to work with ShipMonk because of their experience and infrastructure with Shopify and their ability to deal with mass quantities of orders. Their onboarding process was simple and a straightforward plug-in through the app store. The App interface is very well made and has some great resources for training purposes. We worked with Kerry who has gone above and beyond in communication and transparency. Their whole team of Happiness Engineers is a major highlight of our experience. On the ground their operations exceeded our expectations. We had 5 figures in order quantity, and they maintained an error margin of around .01%. All orders were fulfilled within 2-5 days keeping our customers extremely happy. Some minor things that we would like to see improved on: Accurate up-to-date inventory counts after fulfilled orders. A more straightforward "assisted" claim process for orders with errors. Even more visibility into the receiving process. Quicker updates to billing cycle and pricing changes. Overall, we would recommend to any company who is looking for custom fulfillment specialists. Just be clear to set expectations early, and ShipMonk will deliver.
WAMA Underwear
Google | Lucky
1 July 1, 2021 Horrible experience... Stay far away! Initially, they (Erik van Bilderbeek, Jennifer Santanna & Kerry Neysmith) promised us they can do everything we asked. We sent 50% of our inventory to them. Only to find out after they received our products that their system doesn't allow them to do so. Before launching we placed test orders to ourselves to see if Shipmonk can fulfill correctly and each time they made unacceptable mistakes. We sell underwear and they literally had measured some of our underwear products with a 7 inch height. Actual height is about 0.3". Shipmonk also weighed our products incorrectly adding a 1 pound 8 ounces weight for an underwear. Actual weight is 0.2 lbs. These measurements and weights were mistakes after our complaints getting their manager, Kerry, involved and re-measuring everything. How can they be so off? How can they be so negligent!? After 3 months of consistent issues after issues we just couldn't continue with them. 3 months of time lost. Thousands of dollars lost with Shipmonk even though all the issues were clearly theirs. They do not own up to their own mistakes. We ended up having to pay for their negligence. Highly Not Recommended! Stay Far Away! Find Another Fulfillment Center!
HAY! Straws
Google | Lucky
5 June 24, 2021 We love using ShipMonk their customer service is the best and with dedicated "happiness engineers" there are real people that can help solve fullfillment issues. They are an extention of our customer service and we appreciate their quick response times and attention to detail.
Dirty Boi Club
Google | Lucky
5 June 23, 2021 I absolutely love ShipMonk! Their seamless integration with the Shopify cart is what led me to them. From my first call to ask questions about the service, to the onboarding process these guys made me feel like I had a team working with me to get my product up on the market. My Fulfillment Consultant Brandon was there every step of the way to answer my questions even the stupid ones. Not once was I pushed off to an FAQ or a link to go find the answers on my own. ShipMonk is not just a fulfillment house; they are an addition to your business team. So if you're on the fence and searching through reviews to make sure you're making the right decision like I was, trust these are the guys you've been looking for.
Frost Buddy
Google | Lucky
5 June 23, 2021 We moved to Shipmonk due the increase in volume that we were doing along with the analytics they have to offer. The communication has been well with Michaela, Kerry, and Carmen and they are always happy to help. There is a lot of self education with the software but it is typically user friendly. They were able to get 7000 orders our in 2 days for us. The only charge that is difficult to track is the additional surcharges, residential delivery fee, and fuel surcharges. These sometimes add up but they are always happy to talk it through. Very pleased thus far!
The Curiosity Box
Google | Lucky
5 June 18, 2021 Shipmonk is so helpful, quick, and efficient! Their customer service is some of the best we have ever dealt with and they really are sure to treat your business as a partnership. 10/10 would recommend Shipmonk!
Ingredients® Wellness
Google | Lucky
5 June 17, 2021 We love doing business with Shipmonk! Their customer service is extremely helpful and friendly. We love how efficient and streamlined their system is.
Return of the Living Dead
Google | Lucky
5 June 16, 2021 We have been using Shipmonk on our new website (a few months now) with great results. The customer service is outstanding, especially for people who don't have too much experience dealing with 3rd party fulfillers. Their platform is a bit complex, but there are plenty of resources that explain everything and the support team is always helpful in smoothing out any issues quickly and patiently explaining how to properly use the tool over the phone or email. I also really like the reporting (both for orders/fulfillment as well as costs to us) and simple pricing model, which has been exactly in line with what they showed me during the sales pitch. Couldn't be happier thus far!
The Dirt - Super Natural Personal Care
Google | Lucky
5 June 16, 2021 We used another 3PL that had confusing pricing - with Shipmonk they are upfront and easy to understand. After a six month trial, we just added another brand to their platform ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️!!
Mint & Lily
Google | Lucky
5 June 16, 2021 The best 3pl for Shopify brands. ShipMonk has it all -- easy integration with Shopify, a robust feature set, an amazing support team, and warehouses that can get 99%+ of orders out the door same or next business day, even during spikes in demand. They also have the flexibility to offer custom services like kitting. Since they own and operate their own warehouses, your support representative can walk onto the warehouse floor anytime to take pictures or assess product quality. They're as close as you'll get to physically owning and operating your own warehouses.
JUJUFIT - Luxury Waist Trainers for Women
Google | Lucky
5 June 15, 2021 ShipMonk has an extremely easy integration system that allowed for quick and seamless inventory and shipping integration. They have been extremely responsive when contacting them, I am very pleased with the app and services provided.
Saranghae Means I Love You
Google | Lucky
5 June 15, 2021 I've worked with Shipmonk for over 2 years. We switched over during black Friday which could have been a total mess. Integration was smooth and painless. Ever since then, we love how responsive they are with any issues that rise up. We identify, locate the root cause, fix and move on.
Sunday Citizen
Google | Lucky
5 June 14, 2021 We came to ShipMonk after pretty terrible experiences with other 3PLs and they were a very welcome relief. We came to them because of their pricing but stayed because of their great customer service (just renewed our contract!). Their back-end software is also very intuitive and easy to use. Since we started working with them we have grown more than 4x and they have been able to keep up with this growth seamlessly.
Ekster®
Google | Lucky
5 June 14, 2021 An amazing user friendly platform! The service is excellent and I can always trust Shipmonk to get the job done.
Ekster®
Google | Lucky
4 June 14, 2021 Easy to track orders but needs to improve in fulfilling the correct items for shipping and on-time shipping.
NoNetz
Google | Lucky
5 June 12, 2021 Love Shipmonk! Fulfilling orders is seamless; my customers are super satisfied, and the interface is a breeze. I can see my entire shipping ecosystem at once. :)
Realm
Google | Lucky
5 June 12, 2021 Realm <3's Shipmonk so much!! Our previous fulfillment partner was a nightmare — orders misplaced, inventory lost and hidden fees. Shipmonk is honest, efficient, reliable and super easy to use!! Happy customers for several years and more to come as we grow.
Alter Ego
Google | Lucky
5 June 10, 2021 Love Shipmonk! Previously it was a nightmare doing fulfillment in-house. Shipmonk made it possible to scale our sales effortlessly.
Nuoptimal
Google | Lucky
5 June 10, 2021 ShipMonk really made our whole 3PL and inventory management system seamless. Before we were using a local distributor which overcharged us and consistently brought slow shipping times. After switching to ShipMonk we loved their platform which was easy to use and customer service was stellar. Would highly recommend them for your 3PL needs!
Embrace Pangaea
Google | Lucky
5 June 8, 2021 Wouldn't Have Made over $3,000,000 Last Year Without Shipmonk! This software has expedited the SALES GROWTH of my business by removing the headache of shipping, storing, and hiring staff to package and process orders. With this weight off of my shoulders, I can 100% focus on new product development and effective marketing to continue increasing my business' revenue. The thing I LEAST LIKE about this software is that I didn't know it existed YEARS before! I have been using this software since the summer of 2018. Before that, I was STRUGGLING to keep up with packaging hundreds of monthly orders. Fast forwards years later, we now have THOUSANDS of orders each month. Image if I was still self-packaging my own orders with our current volume. This software is a MUST HAVE for serious business owners that want to build a business that can fully operate on its own. Overall, this software is CRITICAL because it frees my time, gives me location independence to travel, and enjoy my family without worrying about packaging material, processing orders, or interacting with shipping companies. This software gives me the security and confidence knowing that I am building a sustainable business that can and does run without me needing to be present for every aspect.
Even
Google | Lucky
5 June 7, 2021 The technology/software is top notch. I've used 3 3PLs in the past with three different softwares. Shipmonk is night and day the best and has incredibly robust functionality that makes shipping/logistics management much easier. Love the UI and features they have implemented. Worth a demo of the backend to see the software. They are very innovative and have through the pain points we have to make what I feel is the best product on the market. I've visited their facility in Fort Lauderdale and have been extremely impressed with their overall operation and efficiency. Since we are a small business, customer service is the most important thing to us. Shipmonk is incredibly responsive and helped us navigate some issues we had with our SKUs. The onboarding was a breeze and would rate their customer services a 10/10.
The Angel Watch Company
Google | Lucky
5 June 7, 2021 Love working with Shipmonk. I've tried working with other fulfilment services and they don't come close. Mistakes happen (as they do anywhere) but with Shipmonk they're very, very rare and when they do happen, customer service is always there to help. I couldn't recommend them enough.
Fanjoy
Google | Lucky
5 June 7, 2021 Shipmonk has been an incredible partner and a huge asset to growing our company, With the help of personal account happiness engineers and an always available service team orders can be shipped in a matter of minutes. With one of the largest facilities and an exceptional team fulfillment is easier than ever. Shipmonk is the way to go!
Alkamind
Google | Lucky
5 June 7, 2021 We moved to Shipmonk in May 2021. They went above and beyond to get our inventory and our orders transitioned seamlessly exceeding our expectations. Additionally, their portal is very easy to use and we appreciate being able to modify orders and the extra fraud protection. We aren't used to all these luxuries. Matt Rose has gone above and beyond getting our account up and running. We are working with our happiness rep, Laura who has been a magnificent partner as well. We have been with them a short time, but I felt compelled to write since we are experiencing such a terrific partnership! I will keep this review updated over time as well. We couldn't be happier with our transition to Shipmonk.
Rover Store
Google | Lucky
2 April 20, 2021 I would highly recommend not using ShipMonk. I'm providing 2 stars because their UI is great, and the sync with Shopify is helpful so that we in theory don't have to update our inventory on a consistent basis (which in reality is not the case). If you have under 100 SKU's they may be a fit, we've been using them for a few years and everything was fine until we really starting scaling our inventory levels and SKU count. Then came receiving issues, lost inventory (and by default overselling to our customers and having to cancel orders), and sending the wrong product to our customers - as in not even inventory sold from our store (we sell dog merch, our customers have received human supplements, perfume, etc). I had to track down and reach out to the other stores separately to make sure they were aware their product (sometimes worth $100+) was being sent out to the wrong customers so they could also file claims. The lost inventory has been the biggest headache for us. When I say lost inventory I mean hundreds of units (some SKU's have a >6% shrink which ShipMonk claims is normal) that have gone missing within a few months, and no reimbursement with often what I would consider odd rational - they couldn't store everything in a single bin, therefore it's not their fault. Money drain! I will say different from other ShipMonk reviews I have mostly had good experiences with their CX team, and I think the bigger issue is that there are larger wide scale systemic issues with ShipMonk and the CX team is either not equipped to handle or they truly have no idea what happened and that's that. My negative experiences have been when agents will resolve a ticket when the issue is not fixed, so I've had to reopen tickets just to make sure they actually respond. Overall - I would keep shopping, not worth it.
Bibles and Coffee
Google | Lucky
1 March 17, 2021 if you are looking for a new 3PL, let me just start by saying.... DO NOT USE SHIPMONK. There are so many better options out there and the biggest regret ever is that I used ShipMonk for the past 18 months. This is my break up letter with ShipMonk and I couldn't be more excited to leave them. Not only is the customer service TERRIBLE, but so was my fulfillment experience. They offer a nice online system to check on orders, but lets talk about the important stuff. SHIPPING PRICES: One of the main reasons you use a good 3PL is to have the ability to take advantage of their cheaper / negotiated rates. Not the case here... rather than get cheaper rates, they are charging you more for every single carrier. I was getting cheaper rates using ShipStation back when I shipped myself. They are charging you as much as possible to just provide more profits for them, truly not caring for these small businesses they are providing services for. 2 DAY SHIPPING? RUN AS FAR AS YOU CAN FROM SHIPMONK!!!! In todays world, expedited shipping is becoming the new standard, and if you are looking to offer that to your -customers, MOVE ON TO THE NEXT COMPANY FAST. ShipMonk's 2-Day shipping cost was so incredibly high.. there were MANY cases where I would pay for their "custom label fee" which is $5, provide my own label via ShipStation, and it would STILL be cheaper than the cost they were giving me. How does that even happen? They offer 'DHL EXPEDITED MAX (2-3 BUSINESS DAY) and I did a report on all shipments that used this service and almost NONE made it there within 5 business days, causing me to refund SO many customers that paid extra for expedited shipping. I prefer USPS priority as I think the prices are fair, but they don't offer this for the 48 domestic states, only for Hawaii and Alaska which is the biggest joke EVER. LOST SHIPMENTS: This past year I've lost over 100 shipments with DHL and other random carriers they brought on and they didn't care about replacing these orders or reimbursing those costs. INVENTORY: I have hundreds of products so this was difficult, but I caught many mistakes on our weights and dimensions of products that were WAY WAY WAY OFF, which means you get charged more for shipping when you shouldn't be. You literally have to baby sit and monitor there every move to make sure things are done correctly, but no small business has the time for this. STORAGE COSTS: There storage costs are pretty standard.. but want to know the worst part? They won't tell you what they are charging for each specific product. I wanted a way to see which product was being charged what, especially after selling through 90% of the inventory where maybe the product was in a bigger bin previously, and now I know it should have been moved to something smaller. I asked if I could get a report of all my storage costs, but they were unable to do so. Just said 'we don't offer that'. How are you generating these costs if you can't tell me what the cost is for each product? PICK FEES: Pick fees are MUCH higher than the competition. You will find cheaper with any other 3pl, trust me. When it came to closing my account, I was prepared to file a lawsuit it got so bad and I honestly wish I did. To 'close out my account and move my inventory' it took a whopping 35 days. You read that right.. 35 DAYS! That's 35 days of not being able to take sales. Thankfully - I had our best sellers already on Amazon so I could manually fulfil orders, but this is just a joke. Not only did it take this long to get my inventory picked up, they messed up NUMEROUS cartons mislabeling the contents and didn't label my pallets correctly. I ended up leaving them to go with Shopify Fulfillment Network, but if you don't qualify for them, I highly recommend ShipBob. I received quotes from over 5 3PL's and if I wasn't going with Shopify, ShipBob was my next choice. Now that you've read this long review, stop any communication with them as soon as you can! :) Sincerely your customer you never cared about anyways, Mike
Blender Buddy
Google | Lucky
5 Feb. 2, 2021 What a fantastic company. Not only are they effective and efficient, but their customer service is superb. Really helped us out on a personal level with our business on top of doing an excellent job at fulfillment.