Store name Rating Posted Review text
Dollboxx
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 15, 2018 I believe this is the first negative review I have ever left on a Shopify app, but I would like to hope that this review will help other merchants from wasting so much time and money as we have on this program. The sales team will promise the world before signing up, then once you're signed up, you get nothing. We started on the enterprise plan for a number of months before realising we should have been put on the 'professional plan' from the beginning and saving $400 USD a month in wasted costs. The sales team gave us the impression we would need to be on the enterprise plan in order to get the full features, which was not true. We have not been impressed by the level of support at all. There is literally no support with anything. The sales team will bend over backwards to call and promise what you will receive after signing up. Yet once you're onboard and have any issues, either in regards to the software itself or billing related, you'll only receive canned responses with no accountability for problems on their end. The software is ridiculously overpriced for what it is and the price does not justify the resulting revenue from the program. You'll be better off setting up a number of customer win-back/loyalty campaigns using marketing automation software which is the direction we'll be heading. The software has a good looking UI, but the support is non-existent, there is zero accountability for problems and the price is not justified. I would give zero stars if possible.
MatchaBotanicals
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 14, 2018 We were immediately interested by features that could be part of the paying plan and wanted to upgrade, but they don't show anywhere what these features exactly are and how they look like. We contacted them to ask for a few days of free trial to only see what the features actually are before purchasing them, which seems common business sense. The support frankly abruptly rejected this demand, telling us that since there is no long term commitment, we can very well pay $50 to see what their paying features are. I find this approach disrespectful.
Findlay Hats
Google | Lucky
2 Oct. 31, 2018 Love the concept of the app, but fairly frustrated with the customer support and troubleshooting thus far. Pros: The Concept & Easy to set up. Cons: Zero troubleshooting, no customer support over the weekend We have had 2 major hurdles with our app since starting it earlier this week. We reached out on Thursday evening for help with an issue and had moderate help throughout the day via chat on Friday, but the issue was not solved, and we were told we had to wait until Monday for this issue to be fixed when another rep would be back who could better assist me. Not a major issue, but still frustrating. The second issue seems to be a glitch in the app or something wrong with how we set it up for our VIP Tiers, not sure. This is causing our customers to not show up higher than the lowest tier, regardless of qualifiers achieved. We reached out on Friday for help, but their customer service was gone for the weekend, including the email listed for urgent requests. I handle a lot of apps, from a lot of developers and usually can find the solution to problems like this fairly quickly. However, the smile backend has zero troubleshooting help that I can find for this issue. It has very clear and defined info on how to set something up, but zero guides on how to troubleshoot any problems that arise. I understand people don't want to work weekends, but for an app of this size, and this importance, I feel this is inexcusable. The internet never closes and having an app that literally requires direct customer engagement and involvement like this needs a support team that can help every day of the week. Regardless of the lack of support over the weekend, there is still a huge problem with no troubleshooting help, and it confuses me an app of this size can care so little for helping their customers through problems. Give us the power to solve problems ourselves if you aren't going to have a weekend shift. We announced our rewards & VIP program, then immediately got hit with customer service questions from our customers who are angry, confused or frustrated that their VIP tiers are not showing up correctly. So our customers who were most excited to take advantage of this program, are getting an introduction to our rewards program in a negative way. This simple error here has lead to a pileup of work for us, frustrated customers and a steady 5+ hours of work on my end within the app trying to fix it alone. I imagine my problem here is not that complicated to fix, but I am at a standstill. Not a great start to an app we were excited about. Lesson learned though, we should never launch a new app like this prior to the weekend if they don't have 7 days a week customer support. Update: Raised review to 3 stars after being reached out to about this issue on Monday. Update2: Back down to 2 stars. It does the basics, and we will continue to use it due to not having the time to set up a new plan on another platform until after the holidays. I have 3 new issues to share here. Issue 1: VIP Program. We downgraded to the free plan because the VIP program did not go as intended. From the beginning, it simply was not clearly defined and caused a lot of confusion. As a result, I was having trouble getting people set up in the appropriate VIP tiers for past purchases, and I followed some advice from their CS team to temporarily change from a dollars VIP program to a points VIP program. I was not informed, nor smart enough to notice, that in doing so there are no safeguards in place to stop you from rewarding hundreds of customers with thousands of dollars in free merchandise. As suggested, we changed to a point system temporarily to see if that would help get people to the proper tier, and due to the ratio of dollars to points being way off (1000 points is wayyyy easier to get then $1000 spent) hundreds of customers automatically qualified for our top tier VIP program without actually spending the money to do so. We made a huge mistake and had to cancel the program altogether - in addition we then had to honor many free gifts for our customers due to the mistake, and offer alternative prizes to those who qualified for a tier we simply couldn't afford to do (multiple people who $100+ value in products). This was largely my mistake, not theirs, but a simple warning somewhere along the way mentioning that the dollars to points ratio does not change automatically when you change the VIP qualifiers would have saved a major headache. Such a situation should have a warning in place prior to rewarding hundreds of people. Issue 2: Referrals. We have free stickers on our website as a great first touch for new customers. However, the referrals program will still work for people who are referred to our website, but end up just purchasing free stickers, and nothing of value. Despite the "this coupon only works if the customer spends $X or more" the referrer still gets the referral bonus regardless of amount spent. Not an issue for companies that don't have free products on their site, but a major issue for us. We do have a note on our FAQ page that notes a referral where the customer spends under $10 will be automatically removed and then we manually remove any of these referrals on the back end. Seems like this would be an easy fix, but when confronted about it Smile was unable to help us. Issue 3: Integration at the free level. The lack of any integration with the free plan is frustrating, especially when we want to simply integrate it with our customer service platform. As a result, any customer service related issues in regard to this app (a daily thing) have to be manually adjusted in the app itself, instead of the customer service app ticket. I do not want to upgrade to the $100+ a month just to integrate this app into our customer service app. Alrighty, I am done rambling. Hope this helps.
TerraNut Store
Google | Lucky
2 Oct. 8, 2018 This would have been great if there was a way to create a separate landing page or direct link to the program. only offering a pop up form doesn't fly. I cannot have the widget on every screen.
Sacame El Jugo
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 28, 2018 La app no se puede personalizar a español, debe ser con el upgrade paRA liograrlo, por lo demas es facil de instalar
Bluendig
Google | Lucky
3 Sept. 15, 2018 tienen un error en compartir en facebook ( no lo comparti y aun asi me dio los puntos) :C la idea es buena pero tiene fallas la app
TerraNut
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 14, 2018 This app could be great with a few modifications. 1. The launcher icon is obtrusive and is on every screen of every page. There needs to be an option to choose what pages it displays on and for how long or have the "X" icon that will let customers dismiss it so its no longer on the screen. 2. There needs top be a way to disable the launcher button, but still allow customers to sign up and view/redeem rewards using a link or web address instead. It needs a link that can be set to a landing page instead of the launcher widget. 3. If the widget is set to the right side of the screen, my customers can't checkout because the launcher widget stays on top blocking the checkout button.
Angrykittyonline
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 12, 2018 We have not used their app in months live on our site and they're still charging us! Want refunds. 9/11/2018 UPDATE NO REFUND YET!! FOR MONTHS OF SERVICE NOT BEING USED AND HELPED WITH. 9/12/2018 TOTAL refusal to refund or make this right with us. They say they could not find any emails from us so it's our fault. Maggie does not seem to care about the reputation of the app at all and would rather not help us. They are not trying to work with us at all for an end result. At this point, money would be there only goal and I would not recommend working with them. They are a very pricey app to be this unhelpful.
Nautical Kart
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 11, 2018 SCAM...Just observed lot of spurious sign ups, just checked the paid app, it is based on the sign-ups..Biggest SCAM in shopify apps...Reporting this app, right away and uninstalling.
Whitemountainpuzzles Com
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 16, 2018 Never had a chance to launch it. Was told I could offer a Points per Product program before I signed up but after signing up and downloading app I was informed I could only do a Points per Dollar model. Sorry. Not Smiling
Jrink
Google | Lucky
1 July 22, 2018 THIS APP DOES NOT WORK FOR IN-STORE REDEMPTIONS. If you are a Shopify store owner and want to find an omni-channel solution for loyalty points, do NOT use Smile. It's become a huge hassle for our team as the customer points show up as "error" when trying to redeem.
Tuteleriebatistas
Google | Lucky
1 July 18, 2018 This is a scam. The app claims that it will reward your customers for sharing your shop on Facebook and Twitter. However the app does not track any sharing and just gives free points to customers for NOTHING. I reached out to their support team and they do not respond. Business relationship is all about trust and if they are able to be misleading on such important information then from my point of view they cannot be trusted. I am sorry but goodbye Smile.
Petfycl
Google | Lucky
1 July 16, 2018 is not in spanish, please add fielsd so i can translate is manualy to spanish
The Dry Eye Shop
Google | Lucky
3 July 14, 2018 It's a very slick program, but definitely not right for my clientele. It was expensive (due to large customer database I had to be on the $600 plan) and I suspect it really is much more useful to people who are heavy on the email marketing (I'm not). I sell medical products and I think my customers saw it as too gimmicky. I have a high percentage of mobile sales and the widget was always in the way - a real problem on small screens. I reached out to my entire mailing list for feedback to see if they cared whether I kept it or not, and the only people that replied said to ditch it, that they had too many point programs to keep track of anyway. They found it too complicated to use. - I probably would have been more motivated to keep it if I could have had more options in terms of custom defined actions for point awards (beyond the fb/tw shares/likes).
Ample Foods
Google | Lucky
1 June 12, 2018 Basic referral functionality doesn't limit to first-time customers. Referrals can't be offered as point values, and aren't fully integrated with the point earning/spending experience. Their support team misunderstands issues right and left, leaving me with 9+ email chains to troubleshoot simple problems.
The Banger Store
Google | Lucky
2 April 8, 2018 Some customers would sign up and not be rewarded the bonus automatically.
Grizzlygadget
Google | Lucky
3 March 27, 2018 This is a honest review of the Smile.io app. I love the concept of points, referral, and VIP programs. Its a good way to grow your brand providing incentive marketing to your brand however, if you want start off using the free plan. It's going to be frustrating because the launcher or icon is going to block your live chat support if you have any and block social proof pop up as well. The icon only has two placement options and that is bottom left or right. No other adjustment. For those successful shopify owners and want to add this using the free plan. It may frustrate you with the icon blocking your live chat or other third party apps down below. The pricing plan is a jump up to get you to pay for features that should be by default. If you want the good plan. its going to cost 600 off the bat. I passed this statement to the Smile.io team and they are addressing other ways to improve on the icon placement as well other free features to help you grow your revenue as this is their priority number one. I gave this a 3 star because the icon was frustrating as its blocking apps and other things in the footer of both desktop and mobile. They need more options like middle left or right. It would have gotten a 5 star but that was the issue and forgot to add in at least a default template page to help you grow in the free plan.
All Mamas Children
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 21, 2018 we are a small store (10-15000 visits per month, a few thousand customers). The launcher, without an intent page has murdered my conversion rate. The points don't show on my customer account page, so I cannot promote the service to customers, without losing them via the terrible UX and limited positioning of the launcher. My only alternative to provide proper is to pay 600 a month, which I'll get no return on and cannot afford to invest in with a customer list only in the 1000s. It feels like a honey trap / bait and switch tactic. Fundamental user experience requirements should absolutely be a prerequisite for a paid app. There's a lot of great functionality in there, but not one I'm willing to take a 40% conversion drop on new business, especially with Shopify itself being so limited in its design flexibility out of the box. I'm not willing to plough dev resources into solving problems that ae solvable out of the box. As a consequence, I've decided to accept any reputational damage from halting the programme while I try to find a suitable alternative. Take a look by contrast at the flexibility of positioning of surveys and polls etc on a solution like Hotjar - it manages to be both visible and unobtrusive. (it's a different type of ap, but the launcher is near perfect and still carries their branding on the lower plans, which is fine) It's a shame, because otherwise I was 100% bought in to your journey and the functions you offer, but the pricing plan vs feature set doesn't feel like advantages when moving through the plans, it feels like blackmail, leveraged against my own promotion to customers and desire to provide a good service offering to my customers. I wish I'd read more before I committed - the sales patter doesn't match the experience of using this properly. I'm sure it's fine if you're fishing around with a free plan and not on top of your user stats. I am on top of mine and unfortunately, an otherwise excellent app is destroyed by the simplest oversight in UX - classic case of a developer thinking of themselves without considering an end user.
Breadvillage
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 11, 2018 Be careful installing this app, as they will add code that won't uninstall when you leave. Combine their sloppy attitude with the deep access they ask for, and it becomes a no-go.
Yippeun
Google | Lucky
3 Dec. 20, 2017 The app is easy to install and to use. it's a shame that messages can't be customised under the free plan, especially since my customers don't speak english.
Star Style Homewares Accessories
Google | Lucky
2 Dec. 12, 2017 Great concept - easy to install great way to entice our customers if it actually worked....our codes that get sent to customers with rewards dont actually work!
Odorbgoneproducts
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 24, 2017 I am sure I would like the program if I could ever get it implemented. I have requested help setting up the explainer page multiple times. (Which I they told me they would do) Each time I ask, they tell me to submit a request to the support staff -- which I have done Twice. No response. My only contact with them now is when they bill me each month. Ironically, they do not forget to contact me then. So my problem is customer service. They couldn't contact me enough before I purchased. After I purchased, quite a different story I am sorry to say.
Yourbigmarket Com
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 23, 2017 Bonjour Je dois supprimer cette application car le Panneau sur lequel est Placé l'écriteau empêche mes clients de Payer Cordialement Josée Meertens
Aj Craft Supplies
Google | Lucky
3 Oct. 22, 2017 The free plan is good, but to include the ability for customers to earn points by reviewing your product is an extra $59 per month, which I find ridiculous. Sorry!
Zenbooth
Google | Lucky
3 Oct. 10, 2017 This app is awesome and so is their employee Maggie who answered all of my questions. It's 5/5 stars with her, 4/5 without. Update: I'm moving it down to three stars since there have been a number of issues, and we are waiting to hear back from the the support team on this. Maybe with prompt response and resolution it will go back to a 5 start review.
Chicmall
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 1, 2017 It seem like a good App but the set up is not easy for a novice person
Black Velvet Indulgence
Google | Lucky
3 Sept. 27, 2017 Would be SO much better if this was integrated into the user's account info instead of them having to have an ugly circle on their phone all the time. I'm surprised this app makes any money due to that. People HATE having stuff like that in their faces. Having said that, the IDEA of the app is great.
Jetwavegames
Google | Lucky
3 Sept. 13, 2017 No way to differentiate earning points per product (or collections)
Last Free Souls
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 1, 2017 Very great system & idea. However, the actual end product does not work whatsoever. Whenever a customer tries to register a rewards account, the page just refreshes, that's it. I would love to use this app because of it's great integrations, hoping for updates soon!
Mika And Max
Google | Lucky
3 July 30, 2017 Lack of integration with MailChimp is disappointing