Store name Rating Posted Review text
Tenderlyrooted
Google | Lucky
3 Jan. 10, 2022 I signed up for this product when we had just a small handful of subscription customers. Now, 95% of our sales are subscriptions (thousands of subscriptions per year). As it is, my monthly bill from ReCharge is higher than Shopify, Shipstation, Quickbooks, Mailchimp, and all other Shopify apps **COMBINED**. This is, by far, the biggest money pit in our business operations. While the analytics have improved slightly since we first signed up, I am still having to manually assemble data to even understand what the app is doing. Combine that with it crashing this week... Ugh. I understand that ReCharge as a company is primarily focused on large enterprise accounts and that this Shopify app is a fairly new entry for them. However, there are significantly better choices on the Shopify App Store for subscriptions at a FRACTION of the cost. (ReCharge collects a flat fee PLUS a percentage of all dollars that flow through their system, including shipping! It gets expensive fast!) However, the actual people who work there are a delight. The support team is great and responsive and are always interested in keeping things up and running -- kudos to them! They're the real heroes here: they get all the stars in this review.
Vena CBD
Google | Lucky
3 Jan. 7, 2022 I wish I could get fixes to dev issues. I still have to request from CS to get orders manually processed, I used to have permission but it changed somehow and now I don't. I asked to get permission and was not able to because it is under an email my team doesn't have access to. ReCharge could not edit permission for me.
Pure Craft
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 20, 2021 worst APP to navigate. Everything is manual. The set up process migrating from other sub app was promised to be simple but actually HORRIBLE. RUN!!! Now if you decide to make any changes their bulk process does not work or the staff is just not capable. Get ready to spend hours figuring their back end out. No thanks to Joel or Nigel who will write lengthy emails but not actually help. Will be moving all my companies off this platform now.
Heat
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 9, 2021 The individuals I've interacted with at Recharge so far have been nice, but I've had a frustrating overall experience so far and I can't recommend the service. I had a deadline to meet to update my subscription service page, and I reached out to Recharge to see if I could migrate there. It seemed like we were going to be able to achieve this, and so I signed a contract for an enterprise plan. It was basically the same cost as a (non contract) pro plan, but included premium support. I thought this might mean I could avoid hiring a developer to do a basic subscription page. I had some hesitation because the contract was basically no upside (if my volume went above what was predicted, I'd still have to pay more) and all downside (if my volume went down significantly we'd still be charged as if our volume was as predicted), but I was in a rush and wanted to do anything I could to help move along the process. In retrospect, this was a poor decision, but on a personal note, my father had passed away about a week earlier and I may not have been thinking as clearly as I should have been when signing a long term contract. When it came time to make the subscription page, it turned out that doing something as basic as offering renewing subscriptions and pre-paid subscriptions on one page would require getting an outside developer involved, and the gifting options were much more limited than I had previously understood (I was honestly surprised at the lack of options for gifting beyond one limited integration). With very little time left before the holidays, I found a different option that I was able to set up myself with minimal customization needed. I assumed that I would be able to cancel the recharge contract since I wasn't able to get up and running in time, which was the whole point in the first place, but their legal dept is unwilling to make any modifications beyond delaying it a month. I don't blame any individuals involved, it's just that it's a big inflexible company and this sort of thing comes with the territory, so I'd recommend finding a different company.
Parlor Coffee
Google | Lucky
3 Oct. 28, 2021 The support was very helpful. The support team's response quickly provided responses and solutions to my question.
MAKTUB Studio
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 27, 2021 Would not recommend 1/5 I decided on Recharge based on good reviews, UI and their other reputable clients. However, after using this app for about 3 months to manage my monthly candle subscriptions, a number of my customer subscriptions received charge errors and I was not notified about the errors and neither were my customers. After a month it was brought to my attention that my customers had not received their orders and had not been charged for the previous month. I contacted the app to help me troubleshoot this issue, in which I was told the error was unknown and I would have to manually charge the orders, which I did and the previous month's orders went through. However, the app wasn't able to provide a solution for the current month's charges and informed me that my customers would skip the current month's subscription. On top of that, the following month the same errors occurred again. I can't put my business' reputation on the line for this app's poor development and functions. I would not recommend.
Harringtons Pet Food
Google | Lucky
3 Oct. 22, 2021 Some of the history information is misleading for agents to follow. One of our agents is unable to retry charges or refund customers and an investigation is ongoing with developers
SeaVees
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 13, 2021 Warning, installing this app will immediately inject code snippets into your theme that will display content on the front end. Even after removing the snippets, we encountered a compatibility with paypal express checkout that generated a liquid error: internal and took a while to find and solve. Proceed with caution.
Sietefoods.com
Google | Lucky
3 Oct. 8, 2021 It's largely helpful and achieves what we want out of a subscription app. Customer service is generally pretty responsive. I do wish there were more customer friendly features that'd make the user experience even lower friction.
Mala the Brand
Google | Lucky
3 Oct. 7, 2021 There were a lot of underlying issues that were not clarify up-front. We had to contact support back and forth for help (some even took 3-4 days to respond which affected our store performance).
Jumpy Monkey® Coffee
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 23, 2021 They switched me over to a paid account without me asking for it. Now they no longer have a free account. 1% + .10 so now my credit card charge rate is extra high once you add this onto what credit cards/paypal is charging. also very cumbersome to use. So Recharge reached out to me and I thought - this is great they will work with me. But sadly no - they gave me a whole bunch of fictional information and basically said it was my fault. Had my start date wrong, said I shut it down etc.
amai
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 22, 2021 The app is NOT made for stores outside of the US. Main issues (1) It lacks A LOT of localization (translation into other languages) as it is very US centered. Even though they have a Translations tab there are many fields that are not translatable not even if you hire a dev. Only option is to pay $300 and become Pro. Support team does not take notes of changes needed either, so it´s a dead end. (2) Support team knowledge is very shallow they basically replicate what´s already written in the wikis or tell you the issue is with your theme or shopify. I am facing an issue with an email notification that shows incorrect information even though the code is correct, and no response from their senior support team in weeks. It took me 4 emails to convince them that it wasn't working (shouldn't it be the opposite?, that is, they help me instead of doubt me?)
ExpressMed
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 21, 2021 Support is very hit or miss. Was very responsive when trying to bring us on and get us installed, then just completely stopped responding once they started getting money from us. App is not user friendly if you have a lot of items in your store (1000+). A lot of the stuff you need to do in bulk you can only do at a max 100 products at a time (i.e, updating product subscription settings).
Coffee Capsules 2U NZ
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 21, 2021 This is a very bad app. They advertise that it's fully integrated but its just not. Do you yourself a favor and google ReCharge for Shopify Everything It Claims To Be? for you start. It will give you a more honest review. I wish I read this before we signed up
whish beauty
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 16, 2021 Hi - I have never written a bad review in my life. If I don't have anything nice to say, I don't say anything I just spend my money elsewhere. This APP is SOOOOO problematic. Customers cannot tune their deliveries themselves just for starters. But the reason I am writing this review is because THIS APP is making my buy box disappear on multiple product listings. We have asked for help mulitple times. Here is their answer: XYZ here with Recharge, thanks for reaching out. Adding a Quick View to your store theme requires custom code for your Shopify storefront and is not supported by ReCharge as per our design policy. It depends on your Shopify store theme, how it's coded with JavaScript, and what Quick View apps you use on your storefront. If you require further assistance, visit the ReCharge Partner Directory for a list of development agencies that can help build out a custom solution. This is their solution to their App whose purpose is to assure you get more orders, all the while it is deleting your add to cart button. STAY AWAY. ONCE YOU USE IT, YOU WILL HAVE CUSTOMERS RELYING ON THEIR AUTOSHIP WHICH MAKES IT HARD TO DELETE. I would give negative stars if I could.
Kenmore Coffee Company
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 6, 2021 I never write reviews but I feel like I have to, in this case, as a warning to potential users. I wanted ReCharge to work. I've used others in this space and found them lacking. With the number of features ReCharge claims to have it felt like a no-brainer. Instead, to date, I've run into the following issues, causing us to lose revenue and customers: - ReCharge doesn't understand sales tax and sometimes doesn't collect it properly, leading to lost revenue, or over-charging customers. They don't have a solution besides radio silence in their emails. - ReCharge doesn't understand the easily-attainable-from-Shopify shipping rates and will sometimes not collect shipping charges, leading to lost revenue. They don't have a solution besides to just don't collecting shipping charges or charge based on weight, not price. (No one told them that's a terrible recommendation, obviously.) - ReCharge's integration doesn't work with OS 2.0 themes, full stop, regardless of what they tell you. (It's not like it hasn't been in the works for a while.) - ReCharge made a change to their shipping component, causing my customers recurring orders to silently error out and not fulfill. This caused at least one of my customers to cancel, resulting in lost revenue. (I received no indication there was a problem, and ReCharge sent my customer a notification email that their order was shipping soon.) If you're not noticing a trend, here, it's this: with the hundreds of millions of dollars they've received in funding, their tool appears to be built like they had zero funding and had to create it in a weekend. I wish I could leave them because I don't trust them with my business or my customers, however, the competition is outright worse. I don't know where all of these 5-star reviews are coming from. They appear fake. I haven't had a single month in the last half-year where there I didn't run into an issue with ReCharge, and after speaking with colleagues in the e-commerce space, they all had similar views and opinions. Even after all that, I still managed to give them two stars. Like I said, their feature set is great when it works, but that's where it ends. Their support team is subpar and has no interest in seeing a problem through to a solution. Their documentation is scattered and inaccurate. You'll be fine if you don't do anything remotely complicated or ever need help. I wish I could go back in time and never sign up with them. I have customers I can't migrate away from their platform, at all, so I'll always be stuck to them unless I want to lose even more revenue. Maybe it's worth it.
CRYSTALS.COM
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 2, 2021 HORRIBLE SUPPORT!! Non exsistent support, they could care less here. I am not the only one from these reviews. Customers cannot even manage their own subscriptions! I am not very satisfied with this app. We used to use Bold subscriptions and have migrated over to recharge about 6 months ago and have had nothing but problems, so many issues with our customers changing addresses on the backend and then it doesn't change for us when we ship, also I have had a number of subs charged without shipping costs, the list goes on and on for errors. To get any help from Recharge is very difficult, they have no live chat and it just goes to an email ticket, every response I have ever got from them has never helped solve our problems. Our subscription revenue has decreased a lot since using recharge, This has cost a lot of loss here Do not use this app
Dr. Carlo Blanco
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 17, 2021 I do not recommend this app because of the poor service. I have been trying for two weeks to solve the problem of wanting to use the app and I got tired of waiting. Very bad support service. They just don't care about their customers.
Tulip Design Co.
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 16, 2021 NO communication skills whatsoever. About as user friendly as a wet cat. I've spent all day trying to get this going and nothing works. And every time I try to get answers I get caught in some email black hole. None of the "directions" use common subscription terminology either. Save yourself the trouble. NOT worth your time.
Swolefoods
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 1, 2021 Probably the most UN - USER FRIENDLY app on Shopify. Customers find it hard to swap, pause, cancel, items. Admin backend is terrible and backward, need 100's of clicks to make changes and have to do everything ONE BY ONE. Support is slow unless you PAY FOR PREMIUM SUPPORT. You should know the value of recurring orders is HUGE for online stores and you need to improve your over all interface. I have lost customers as they get frustrated to use the customer account management system, its terrible
Unico Zelo
Google | Lucky
1 July 30, 2021 Terrible customer service and support. Zero support for launch. Advised a 30min migration - it took 72 hours. Use another subcription app.
Roasted On
Google | Lucky
1 July 16, 2021 Moving from Bold to Recharge has been the worst software decision I have made. For months I've had issues with customers being charged on the wrong day because of timezone differences. After following all of Recharge instructions to fix this... this month the orders didn't happen at all. I understand software can be complex and faults arise. But I've given them months to sort this out, it's now worse, so I'm going to leave a ranty review. They charge for different levels of customer service, but what Recharge should really address is "if we are getting so many customer support tickets that we have to start charging, maybe our product needs to be fixed?" Recharge would be fantastic, if only the software would reliably, well, recharge customers. Perhaps North American businesses won't have the timezone issues that I do, and so the software works fine. But for anyone outside of North America, consider yourself warned.
Javaworks.ca
Google | Lucky
1 July 14, 2021 If I could give it 0 stars I would. Where to start. A - If you plan to use this with shopify checkout - find something else. It simply does not work, causes major bugs and here is the best part. THE SUPPORT IS NON-EXISTANT. Save yourself time, money and headaches and go with a company that's built something that works with Shopify!
Ookies
Google | Lucky
3 July 7, 2021 This application is good but some important points are missing like: - the management of relay points in France - a clear management of subscribers, sincerely you can do better - the management of prepaid subscriptions which for them is no longer an active subscription but an expired subscription when it has just been ordered... Difficult to manage your customers like adding a tag or offering benefits to subscribers - modify a coupon, it must be redone from scratch, just incredible ... - still obliged to go through checkout of recharge, when is the migration planned? Don't forget to think about the subscription habits in Europe and especially in France. Not everything works like in the USA ;)
Silver Falls Sustainability Co.
Google | Lucky
1 July 6, 2021 I get emails once to twice a day from customers unable to edit their subscriptions. My experience with customer support has been poor. In one case, I had to ask a rep 4 times to look into a problem, and stop redirecting me. When he did, he found there was an extra line of code the app had installed, and he removed it. Currently going through a similar process. If I could start all over, I would not use this app.
NZ Hempress - NZ owned
Google | Lucky
1 July 5, 2021 Terrible. There are no contact options on their website. And the app wouldn't load any of our products.
Cherries & Carrot Tops
Google | Lucky
1 July 2, 2021 I regret the day I installed this app. It has been nothing but a pain in my, and my customers arse since the day it began. Customer support take ages to respond, and usually I have to quick fix a problem because I can't live with my business running on half performance, then customer service don't understand why I am having issues. Now the issues are once a week and I have filled out the contact form more times than I can count. Strongly suggest you go elsewhere. Not worth losing the amount of customers I have lost because of these lot.
UPTIME Energy
Google | Lucky
1 June 29, 2021 I was willing to cope with the many technical issues. But you have neglected my support request for over a week on a very important theme launch, despite the numerous emails I've sent. You don't even have a customer service number. As a paying customer, what other options do I have to get my issues resolved? This is unacceptable. My project timeline has now been completely derailed because of ReCharge's inaction. Please please fix this now.
Santo Remedio
Google | Lucky
3 June 28, 2021 In general the app works ok but we cannot swap products because they don't have the same descriptions. Also should be useful to manage a black list where we can add emails to avoid doing recharges again
MrLaundry
Google | Lucky
1 June 24, 2021 I didn't even get to try it ... when I go to "open application" the page goes blank ... I tried to find a link for support or help and I didn't find it either ... curious experience