Store name Rating Posted Review text
Wedding Lux
Google | Lucky
1 yesterday Company downloaded without consent - this has been paid for several months without us knowing! AVOID
Amanda Marcucci
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 4, 2022 TERRIBLE ! Complete waste of time alongside the TURBO app! Dose not work, theme developer takes too long to get back.
Bonjibon
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 4, 2022 This app claims it'll update not only your theme but also update custom code + customizations within your theme. NOPE! The arrogant and unhelpful response from their support team has been a nightmare to navigate and update my theme. The app will "update" your theme and then list every single code file that wasn't able to update, after back and forth with support who then told me this was "never" a feature of the app, we started the process of manually going through each code file listed and updating the new code ourselves. Well we can't even do that now as after 2 hours the page with the list of files and their edits that can't be updated refreshes and you LOSE that directory/reference. The support response when I pointed this out (after being gaslit by them that this wasn't an issue for days) was "We'll have a look at fixing this... sorry." This app in USELESS beyond updating your base theme. You have to completely re-do your theme and any edits you have to it if you decide to use it. We've deiceded that if this is how long term support is going to act to their customers we are explore different themes with different developers and will re-launch that way (see as it will be the same amount of work if we decided to stay with our current theme or not). Not only do I NOT recommend this app I don't recommend ANY theme by Out of the Sandbox
THE CO-OP
Google | Lucky
5 July 27, 2022 Happy with how this is performing, it's keeping my site current and never seems to have any hangups in performance, just needed some assistance over the last week and the crew at Theme Updater were there to help, thank you. :)
Stuttering Therapy Resources
Google | Lucky
5 July 15, 2022 The app updater has been a great help for me. It does most of the work, and then I only have to fill in the special little changes that I've made to the code on my own. I had a technical question, and support got back to me quickly and clearly explained what I needed to do. Very helpful - excellent support!
Mineral Magpie
Google | Lucky
5 July 14, 2022 Very useful app for updating themes. It makes life easier than having to make changes manually each time the theme is updated. I had a few teething problems to begin with (app said my theme was unregistered - despite being registered) - but this was quickly resolved by Byanca.
Formozza.tw
Google | Lucky
5 June 11, 2022 Norm has been great for the support. Though you need to pay for subscription to update to the newest version after trial has expired. I guess this app is like a supplementary tool when you purchase the theme so don't expect it will do all the works for you.
Ketsol
Google | Lucky
1 June 7, 2022 This app makes me want to switch to a new theme company entirely. I (along with seemingly several other users) have an issue with Flex rendering on mobile crawlers, so google believes my site is not responsive. After emailing back and forth with them, their only solution was to install the updated theme. But, you can't download and update flex anymore without using their app. This app costs 80+ per year. If their theme doesn't work on mobile, then why would I be responsible for paying to update it? Out of the Sadbox used to be the best Theme providers, and now its just so terrible, and falling behind other apps I use on other sites.
stubble + 'stache
Google | Lucky
1 June 3, 2022 Update: The issue is still not resolved. We've paid every month this year (and years past) but the app still says we are "unsubscribed" as of February. We've sent proof of payment to Out of the Sandbox multiple times. As per Shopify, our "unsubscribed" subscription is set to renew/charge us again on June 5th. We just want access to the app we've been using and paying for for years! /// Original: We've been using this app for years without issue. About four months ago the app said we were "unsubscribed" despite still being charged the monthly fee. We've been unable to update our themes since and are still being charged the monthly fee. Customer Support is non-responsive despite being provided proof of payment(s).
EUG FASHION
Google | Lucky
1 May 3, 2022 not working with Prestige theme, also I have two other themes not working neither very disappointing
Paw & Glory
Google | Lucky
1 April 11, 2022 Awful app and for the amount the theme actually cost I'm not impressed. I have a layout issue so the theme doesn't load web pages properly in mobile desktop mode and I've asked many times for help but never get a response
Redback One
Google | Lucky
1 March 13, 2022 Horrible customer support, they don't respond, and I purchased my theme! The support for Out of the Sandbox is nonexistent! I messaged on March 3 to ask for assistance and I messaged again on March 8th because of no response. No one from Out of the Sandbox has responded to my requests! I used the theme updater to get my SopPay badges to show on my products and in the preview, it showed the payment badges but when I hit publish, the badges didn’t show on my live website. None of the information provided on Out of the Sandbox address my issue. Customer service hasn’t gotten back to me at all!
Laska by nature
Google | Lucky
2 March 10, 2022 After updates one has to do redo absolutely everything on the updated site from scratch so not worthwhile. The customer service is lousy, as no one replies to questions for days...Disappointed.
EcoFresh™️
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 13, 2022 This app is of no help. I paid for the app in order to update my Turbo theme. I have tried several times and it's not working. When I go to publish it, and check the version number, it's still showing as the old version. I go back to theme updater and it still shows as my theme needing to be updated. I just don't understand. Please help.
Karukinka
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 25, 2022 Primero, tengo que pagar por actualizar un tema por el que pagué 400 dólares. Segundo, no actualiza todo y me recomiendan contratar a un experto al que tengo que pagarle. Tercero, el experto me pide que haga un upgrade a la versión Pro de Theme Updater que hace un día había comprado el día anterior, y el desarrollador no cobra la diferencia, cobra todo de nuevo!! First, I have to pay to update a theme that I paid $400 for. Second, it doesn't update everything and they recommend me to hire an expert that I have to pay. Third, the expert asks me to upgrade to the Pro version of Theme Updater that I had bought the day before, and the developer doesn't charge the difference, he charges everything again!!
TITAN X
Google | Lucky
4 Jan. 16, 2022 EDIT 1/16 After leaving this review, their team explained my problem more accurately and they offered a better and more practical solution which I appreciate. Terrible app, terrible customer experience. I updated my theme and the result was awful: translations missing, errors, the product images, prices and description don’t show correctly and they don't adapt correctly to the screen either. I tried contacting support and they told me that's normal so I have to fix them? How am I supposed to fix them when its not a design problem but a deeper code problem? Also they are charging me even though the app didn't do what it promised and after cancelling the first day.
RELX UK
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 7, 2021 So I bought the theme, but I can't get updates afterwards? I have to pay extra and take the risk to update my theme?
Soundporium Music Store
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 8, 2021 Updated my theme. Ended up hiring a shopify expert to migrate all the modifications from the previous version.
TOP-SHELF.de
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 6, 2021 Although the pro monthly subscription was cancelled in the app at the beginning of September after the update to Theme 2.0. The app was still charging for October and November. According to Shopify the app was still registered for requiring charges.
Manuka Products UK
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 2, 2021 I used this app to update my theme to shopify 2.0, I had no code modifications but the updater still couldn't keep the basic text or images from my previous theme because the liquid themes were incompatible . As you have to pay for this app it is a particularly grating waste of time and money, surely the point is that it is able to transfer the basics to your new theme whereas I have to now start from scratch.
GordonStuart.com
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 30, 2021 I followed the instructions regarding my unsupported theme. Still displayed as unsupported. The support email told me to do what I’d previously done. Since this is a paid app, why did I not receive actual support?
One4Boys
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 28, 2021 I am just going to say that the customer service is terrible !!!. First, the lady told me to go somewhere else to resolve the issues caused by the Booster app to my online theme ( I am still working on it). Secondly, somebody else tries to mitigate the rudeness on the first email providing the same answer but using a different tone.
madcaphats
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 27, 2021 So disappointed by this app and this company. As I pro plan subscriber I would really like to know why I am still waiting 3 days for anyone from the company to look at my issue and get back to me. I had to hire a shopify expert to help me update my Flex theme to the latest version, because the app did not do it, at a cost of $400. This is just seemingly wrong to me. I feel compelled to leave a one star review. I granted permission for someone from Out of the Sandbox to go into my shop and perhaps they would have offered the advice that the issues required this extra help. I got tired of waiting for my "priority support" I have been paying for but never used before. The money you pay monthly to Out of the Sandbox for this app is money spent on empty promises.
Sizy
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 23, 2021 Simply a must for any business who hasn't modified too much of their sites code. Very easy to use and fair pricing for what you're getting in return!
Whose Art
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 7, 2021 Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant! The fact that this app is produced by Out of the Sandbox should reassure you that the quality and support are both second to none. We have been using the Parallax theme by Out of the Sandbox since 2019, alongside this app, and we are absolutely blown away by its high quality and ease of use. We get so many compliments about our website - both looks and functionality. That's all down to the Out of the Sandbox design. Customer service is excellent, they cannot do enough to help. If you have a problem or a concern, they fix it and they genuinely care about your shopify store! I genuinely believe that there is no need to look anywhere else: choose an Out of the Sandbox theme and get this app. You will never regret it. The app makes updating the theme supremely simple. I cannot recommend this highly enough. If you don't believe me about the beauty of Out of the Sandbox design, check out our website! Thank you Out of the Sandbox!
Ivy B.
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 3, 2021 Total joke. Have nothing to do with Pixel Union or Theme Updater. MY ADVICE ON SHOPIFY: ELIMINATE ALL THIRD PARTY APPS AND THEMES. Deal only with Shopify. Shopify support is exceptional. Theme Updater has no live chat, no phone number and ridiculous response times. As if you can sit around waiting for theme help for 24+ hours. Also, shady AF. Got an email from "Jonathan" with a useless link to a help page (instead of answering any actual questions), then 24 hours got the same email, with useless link, AND THE SAME PICTURE OF "JONATHAN," but this time, he was "NORM." Yeah, ok. This seems like one guy living in his mother's basement, occasionally replying to support emails in between "gaming," since all they're capable of is copying and pasting links to their useless help page. "Myles" did sort of attempt to help but his response times were so slow, any info was useless. With Shopify support, you get IMMEDIATE help that actually fixes any issues. Not just "suggestions." Shopify can access the backend of your site and do what needs to be done. Shopify is exceptional. Theme Updater is absolutely useless.
hexaTile Touch
Google | Lucky
1 July 18, 2021 They have terrible customer service and rarely go out of their way to help you fix bugs that their development team caused.
Coastal Gifts Inc
Google | Lucky
5 July 15, 2021 I received a free year of premium support with my purchase of FLEX theme (Awesome) and really enjoy the fact that they make a copy before updating anything so if something goes wrong you could revert back or request support. I have update the theme several times since purchasing and when they are done updating it will tell you the lines of code that they could not move to the updated theme. They literally tell you how and where to place them. Thank you for an easy way to update themes. I will be renewing my premium subscription.
Airdrop Bikes
Google | Lucky
4 July 12, 2021 When it works it is very good. But our Pro Plan subscription has broken which means that the app doesn't work, and we can't access the priority support we paid for. Update: We have received excellent support from OOTS who have stuck with us and resolved a difficult issue. This review has been upgraded to 4 stars to reflect the quality of the app itself.
Nakana Bracelets
Google | Lucky
5 June 11, 2021 I had a huge issue come up in my site. I submitted a request through the pro plan and was contacted within 30min. The problem was resolved within the hour. Not only really quick responses, but Gabe was able to be a temporary collaborator in my store and fix the code immediately. I was really impressed. Honestly surprised to see so many bad reviews here. This was my first experience with them and I was honestly impressed.