Store name Rating Posted Review text
Karukinka
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 25, 2022 Primero, tengo que pagar por actualizar un tema por el que pagué 400 dólares. Segundo, no actualiza todo y me recomiendan contratar a un experto al que tengo que pagarle. Tercero, el experto me pide que haga un upgrade a la versión Pro de Theme Updater que hace un día había comprado el día anterior, y el desarrollador no cobra la diferencia, cobra todo de nuevo!! First, I have to pay to update a theme that I paid $400 for. Second, it doesn't update everything and they recommend me to hire an expert that I have to pay. Third, the expert asks me to upgrade to the Pro version of Theme Updater that I had bought the day before, and the developer doesn't charge the difference, he charges everything again!!
TITAN X
Google | Lucky
4 Jan. 16, 2022 EDIT 1/16 After leaving this review, their team explained my problem more accurately and they offered a better and more practical solution which I appreciate. Terrible app, terrible customer experience. I updated my theme and the result was awful: translations missing, errors, the product images, prices and description don’t show correctly and they don't adapt correctly to the screen either. I tried contacting support and they told me that's normal so I have to fix them? How am I supposed to fix them when its not a design problem but a deeper code problem? Also they are charging me even though the app didn't do what it promised and after cancelling the first day.
RELX UK
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 7, 2021 So I bought the theme, but I can't get updates afterwards? I have to pay extra and take the risk to update my theme?
Soundporium Music Store
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 8, 2021 Updated my theme. Ended up hiring a shopify expert to migrate all the modifications from the previous version.
TOP-SHELF.de
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 6, 2021 Although the pro monthly subscription was cancelled in the app at the beginning of September after the update to Theme 2.0. The app was still charging for October and November. According to Shopify the app was still registered for requiring charges.
Manuka Products UK
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 2, 2021 I used this app to update my theme to shopify 2.0, I had no code modifications but the updater still couldn't keep the basic text or images from my previous theme because the liquid themes were incompatible . As you have to pay for this app it is a particularly grating waste of time and money, surely the point is that it is able to transfer the basics to your new theme whereas I have to now start from scratch.
GordonStuart.com
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 30, 2021 I followed the instructions regarding my unsupported theme. Still displayed as unsupported. The support email told me to do what I’d previously done. Since this is a paid app, why did I not receive actual support?
One4Boys
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 28, 2021 I am just going to say that the customer service is terrible !!!. First, the lady told me to go somewhere else to resolve the issues caused by the Booster app to my online theme ( I am still working on it). Secondly, somebody else tries to mitigate the rudeness on the first email providing the same answer but using a different tone.
madcaphats
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 27, 2021 So disappointed by this app and this company. As I pro plan subscriber I would really like to know why I am still waiting 3 days for anyone from the company to look at my issue and get back to me. I had to hire a shopify expert to help me update my Flex theme to the latest version, because the app did not do it, at a cost of $400. This is just seemingly wrong to me. I feel compelled to leave a one star review. I granted permission for someone from Out of the Sandbox to go into my shop and perhaps they would have offered the advice that the issues required this extra help. I got tired of waiting for my "priority support" I have been paying for but never used before. The money you pay monthly to Out of the Sandbox for this app is money spent on empty promises.
Sizy
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 23, 2021 Simply a must for any business who hasn't modified too much of their sites code. Very easy to use and fair pricing for what you're getting in return!
Whose Art
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 7, 2021 Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant! The fact that this app is produced by Out of the Sandbox should reassure you that the quality and support are both second to none. We have been using the Parallax theme by Out of the Sandbox since 2019, alongside this app, and we are absolutely blown away by its high quality and ease of use. We get so many compliments about our website - both looks and functionality. That's all down to the Out of the Sandbox design. Customer service is excellent, they cannot do enough to help. If you have a problem or a concern, they fix it and they genuinely care about your shopify store! I genuinely believe that there is no need to look anywhere else: choose an Out of the Sandbox theme and get this app. You will never regret it. The app makes updating the theme supremely simple. I cannot recommend this highly enough. If you don't believe me about the beauty of Out of the Sandbox design, check out our website! Thank you Out of the Sandbox!
Ivy B.
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 3, 2021 Total joke. Have nothing to do with Pixel Union or Theme Updater. MY ADVICE ON SHOPIFY: ELIMINATE ALL THIRD PARTY APPS AND THEMES. Deal only with Shopify. Shopify support is exceptional. Theme Updater has no live chat, no phone number and ridiculous response times. As if you can sit around waiting for theme help for 24+ hours. Also, shady AF. Got an email from "Jonathan" with a useless link to a help page (instead of answering any actual questions), then 24 hours got the same email, with useless link, AND THE SAME PICTURE OF "JONATHAN," but this time, he was "NORM." Yeah, ok. This seems like one guy living in his mother's basement, occasionally replying to support emails in between "gaming," since all they're capable of is copying and pasting links to their useless help page. "Myles" did sort of attempt to help but his response times were so slow, any info was useless. With Shopify support, you get IMMEDIATE help that actually fixes any issues. Not just "suggestions." Shopify can access the backend of your site and do what needs to be done. Shopify is exceptional. Theme Updater is absolutely useless.
hexaTile Touch
Google | Lucky
1 July 18, 2021 They have terrible customer service and rarely go out of their way to help you fix bugs that their development team caused.
Coastal Gifts Inc
Google | Lucky
5 July 15, 2021 I received a free year of premium support with my purchase of FLEX theme (Awesome) and really enjoy the fact that they make a copy before updating anything so if something goes wrong you could revert back or request support. I have update the theme several times since purchasing and when they are done updating it will tell you the lines of code that they could not move to the updated theme. They literally tell you how and where to place them. Thank you for an easy way to update themes. I will be renewing my premium subscription.
Airdrop Bikes
Google | Lucky
4 July 12, 2021 When it works it is very good. But our Pro Plan subscription has broken which means that the app doesn't work, and we can't access the priority support we paid for. Update: We have received excellent support from OOTS who have stuck with us and resolved a difficult issue. This review has been upgraded to 4 stars to reflect the quality of the app itself.
Nakana Bracelets
Google | Lucky
5 June 11, 2021 I had a huge issue come up in my site. I submitted a request through the pro plan and was contacted within 30min. The problem was resolved within the hour. Not only really quick responses, but Gabe was able to be a temporary collaborator in my store and fix the code immediately. I was really impressed. Honestly surprised to see so many bad reviews here. This was my first experience with them and I was honestly impressed.
RiseUpDesk
Google | Lucky
1 April 9, 2021 I used this app for the first time. I was glad I made a backup of my site because I had to restore it. I had 7 backend pages that could not be updated. I used a comparison app to review the coding that was different and I spent 3 hours updating. I published the site. It did not work at all. I paid a significant amount for the theme and I am very disappointed with this Theme Updater and I will not be purchasing it. Disappointed with Out of the Sandbox for slow or no response.
MyOwnMillion.com
Google | Lucky
5 April 9, 2021 Really useful app. It updated the theme, really well, kept our customized page scripts and fixed the bugs of older versions.
Pine Street Clinic
Google | Lucky
1 March 31, 2021 Beware: This developer will access your Shopify store without explicit permission and make changes to your theme without your permission.
MHSworld
Google | Lucky
5 March 26, 2021 We use Several Themes for Out of Sand box. And each time it's same pleasure. I will not understand people who leave Badreviews. If you contact AfterSales services , each time they keep care on you and you have answer in a very fast delay. I recommend to all professional website to use outofsandbox. Sure It's not a Free or cheap template, but quality and service have a price. Thanks to OutOfSandBox
BodyHeal
Google | Lucky
2 March 11, 2021 The app itself works okay but the issue is the support from out of the sandbox. They take forever to fix issues. It's now been 3 months since I listed a critical bug. They have been prioritizing it for 3 months and still no fix for the Flex theme.
DoorCorner.com
Google | Lucky
5 Feb. 17, 2021 This app works well to make sure that our Out of the Sandbox themes remain up-to-date. Much more cost-effective than re-purchasing new themes. Developer was quick to respond to an issue that we ran into, and helped us resolve it very quickly so that our site was functioning properly.
Electricridesonly.com
Google | Lucky
5 Feb. 17, 2021 Great app and customer support. Brent is very helpful and responsive as well as the the whole team. App makes it easy to update your theme, definitely recommend!
Soozal
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 30, 2021 I am pleased I didn't purchase a full year. There was a lot that didn't get converted into the new version starting with the hero background video on the homepage. There was a list of things I would need to manually update, which I don't know how to do and defeats the point in paying for this service.
Sterling & Wilde
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 27, 2021 I've had really good support from these guys, and I have used the updater without any issues, so I am happy to leave them a positive review here. No comments on the pricing, currently I am using the free version. I kept a note of my customisations and applied them after the update, and will continue to do so. All good for me and the latest update is definitely a great improvement on mobile.
Bonny Fiber Supplements
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 20, 2021 I love this vendor's themes. If you are comfortable with custom CSS, this is the theme for you. Their themes allowed me to design the eCommerce site that I wanted, rather than being limited by which features were included in a given theme. Worth every penny to purchase the Flex theme with custom CSS fields in almost every section. If you care about design and are comfortable with coding this is the vendor for you. Their customer service team is very responsive to any bugs. Note: They are very clear that they provide the theme and maintenance for their themes. They are not developers.
Gostand Ireland
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 19, 2021 We run several OOTS themes and I have found them to be excellent. Never contacted customer service before. Never had to. Never will again. Zero help if you customize your code at all. Simply refuse to look at it. We have a very specific variable issue which exists in one store but not an identical mirror of it. I understand they get a lot of basic requests from people with limited coding skills but we were very specific about the issue and provided examples. So don’t expect support, your Pro plan is virtually a waste of money, as is the app as customisation is not supported (fair enough as it would be hard) however OOTS themes need apps to make them leading edge. That’s the contradiction we see. Even Flex is not a complete solution. Reading reviews my tops tips would be: 1. Don't use a new theme. Wait until it's been debugged for a year. (Flex?) 2. Keep a changelog for yourself. 3. Forget updating it if customised. 4. Once working try not to touch it. 5. Every two years open a second store and update/perfect it, then repoint your domain. Close the old store or at least remove all the apps and anything costing money. 6. When loading a new theme check it functions 100% before changing anything. Otherwise, no support. 7. Be careful mirroring stores. It might not function and it's very hard to find out why. I still gave them one star as frankly there is no support if you ever change a single line of code in your theme despite how tech savvy you are.
Reversal Solutions, Inc
Google | Lucky
4 Jan. 5, 2021 The App is helpful but the limitations are part of Shopify as well. We are using a 3rd party Shopify app to the build pages we need and in a way that makes sense for us. The Theme Builder is very limited. The updates get complicated because of customizations. I believe this is an overall Shopify limitation. Backup! and use a Shopify Expert to help you.
Reversal Solutions, Inc
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 4, 2021 Constant updates to FLEX. Cant update because too may customizations and THEY DONT TELL YOU THAT WILL BE A PROBLEM. Have an ongoing issue with our ADD TO CART button for several months. Shopify wont help me. Add To Cart is the most important piece or an ecommerce store. Out of The Sandbox will not provide me with phone call.
Naturally Boosted
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 1, 2021 The app is ok .. but Out Of the Sandbox have really taken their foot off the gas. There are almost no updates to FLEX to use this app. FLEX was a premium theme purchased from their own site. I was under the impression that they were a leading developer of themes but we are now having to consider moving to a different theme. If you are going to use this App. ALWAYS take a backup of the site first. It has not any major damage to our site but even the slightest of changes (adding apps, some CSS) can break the process.