Store name Rating Posted Review text
Sterling & Wilde
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 27, 2021 I've had really good support from these guys, and I have used the updater without any issues, so I am happy to leave them a positive review here. No comments on the pricing, currently I am using the free version. I kept a note of my customisations and applied them after the update, and will continue to do so. All good for me and the latest update is definitely a great improvement on mobile.
Bonny Fiber Supplements
Google | Lucky
5 Jan. 20, 2021 I love this vendor's themes. If you are comfortable with custom CSS, this is the theme for you. Their themes allowed me to design the eCommerce site that I wanted, rather than being limited by which features were included in a given theme. Worth every penny to purchase the Flex theme with custom CSS fields in almost every section. If you care about design and are comfortable with coding this is the vendor for you. Their customer service team is very responsive to any bugs. Note: They are very clear that they provide the theme and maintenance for their themes. They are not developers.
Gostand Ireland
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 19, 2021 We run several OOTS themes and I have found them to be excellent. Never contacted customer service before. Never had to. Never will again. Zero help if you customize your code at all. Simply refuse to look at it. We have a very specific variable issue which exists in one store but not an identical mirror of it. I understand they get a lot of basic requests from people with limited coding skills but we were very specific about the issue and provided examples. So don’t expect support, your Pro plan is virtually a waste of money, as is the app as customisation is not supported (fair enough as it would be hard) however OOTS themes need apps to make them leading edge. That’s the contradiction we see. Even Flex is not a complete solution. Reading reviews my tops tips would be: 1. Don't use a new theme. Wait until it's been debugged for a year. (Flex?) 2. Keep a changelog for yourself. 3. Forget updating it if customised. 4. Once working try not to touch it. 5. Every two years open a second store and update/perfect it, then repoint your domain. Close the old store or at least remove all the apps and anything costing money. 6. When loading a new theme check it functions 100% before changing anything. Otherwise, no support. 7. Be careful mirroring stores. It might not function and it's very hard to find out why. I still gave them one star as frankly there is no support if you ever change a single line of code in your theme despite how tech savvy you are.
Reversal Solutions, Inc
Google | Lucky
4 Jan. 5, 2021 The App is helpful but the limitations are part of Shopify as well. We are using a 3rd party Shopify app to the build pages we need and in a way that makes sense for us. The Theme Builder is very limited. The updates get complicated because of customizations. I believe this is an overall Shopify limitation. Backup! and use a Shopify Expert to help you.
Reversal Solutions, Inc
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 4, 2021 Constant updates to FLEX. Cant update because too may customizations and THEY DONT TELL YOU THAT WILL BE A PROBLEM. Have an ongoing issue with our ADD TO CART button for several months. Shopify wont help me. Add To Cart is the most important piece or an ecommerce store. Out of The Sandbox will not provide me with phone call.
Naturally Boosted
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 1, 2021 The app is ok .. but Out Of the Sandbox have really taken their foot off the gas. There are almost no updates to FLEX to use this app. FLEX was a premium theme purchased from their own site. I was under the impression that they were a leading developer of themes but we are now having to consider moving to a different theme. If you are going to use this App. ALWAYS take a backup of the site first. It has not any major damage to our site but even the slightest of changes (adding apps, some CSS) can break the process.
tabythapolaris
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 9, 2020 DO NOT USE THIS HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE DO NOT USE THEME UPDATER APP OR ANY THEMES FROM OUT OF THE SANDBOX 3 WEEKS, 10 EMAILS, COPIED AND PASTED RESPONSES IN MY SUPPORT TICKET< THE RUNAROUND FROM ALL REPS IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG THIS COMPANY WILL NOT HELP YOU. This app updater deleted the product page in theme customizer and no one is helping me resolve this issue. I granted them access to my store, provided screen shots and they are not even reading previous threads in the customer support ticket. I just get a generic copy and pasted response of how to edit the product page in my theme customizer... I AM BEYOND FRUSTRATED.
Affinity Bands
Google | Lucky
2 Dec. 8, 2020 Really like the Turbo theme when we originally got it, but don't even bother updating it with this. It keeps freezing and then after the update, so many things are wrong and doesn't seem like they care to fix it. When I spoke to their customer service, they knew of the bug, but never resolved it. Now a new theme update is out and it's worse than before. So pointless to pay monthly for half assed theme updates.
MANUFAKTURWERK®
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 21, 2020 Destroyed our theme twice in a row. Furthermore it places the wrong items in the cart via mobil (happen also twice). No real support, "because of custom design". Well, the custom design is just basic CSS so no real adjustments. That should be able to handle the update but it doesn't. Support is very nice and friendly, but useless. They've created a storetasker ticket for us, but there was no reply by anyone. Great looking themes but be aware of adjusting anything - not even the font (like in our case). (PRO PLAN)
Rendez-vous Nature
Google | Lucky
3 Nov. 19, 2020 This app is usefull because you can view template file customizations within a theme, but it doesn't import the customizations, you need to do that manually. We paid for "Contact Priority Theme Support". We were disappointed because the theme Parallax had important bugs, and the customer support wasn't ready to admit that and to fix them. After many emails (waste of time and stress), the support agreed the bug was linked to Parallax theme. They fixed the problem that I notified 7 days ago, so I change my review.
Balance ONE
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 9, 2020 We downloaded this app and it didn't work. We immediately asked for a refund, but their response was "there are no refunds for partially used time periods, even if it is a single day." Be very careful when buying anything from this company.
mythaicurry
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 21, 2020 This app can't help what is already broken, and their themes are exactly that; broken. Their "support" is laughable, we have a big problem with their theme, they can't work out what's going on so take the easy way out...."must be down to a third party app" when every single bit of evidence points the other way. Out of the sandbox? We will, asap.
Big Fruit Studios
Google | Lucky
5 Sept. 30, 2020 This is as much about the themes - we use FLEX and TURBO - as it is about the updater (which is only for the Out Of the Sandbox themes - saw some earlier reviews - shame on them). This is paying for itself with just the new FAQ module. Helps to keep our Shopify site not looking like a typical Shopify site and now we also don't worry too much when it is time to upgrade.
milkCases
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 27, 2020 Still 9 templates need to be customized... it just helped with the banner images, so not recommended.
Pinayapple
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 20, 2020 I installed the app based on shopify's recommendations but I was not informed that it was not compatible with my theme!! (debut) Now I have been charged for an app that wont work with my store
Rockabilia
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 18, 2020 This app is Useful for untouched customization theme. Not that much useful for custom changes made with existing theme.
Nalaluxx
Google | Lucky
1 Sept. 17, 2020 I bought the Flex Theme and wanted to import one of the demo shops. I did everything as mentioned in the video/site, I downloaded the Shopify Theme updater, registered the theme and so on in order to import one of the demo shops. But as soon as I click on Import I'm getting this message: "Your demo shop was unable to be imported. Please contact our support team for assistance." This is really annoying. Where is the problem coming from ? Thanks
You Madu
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 24, 2020 Their Turbo theme has a huge bug that sometimes causes the Add to Cart button not to display at all on product pages (talk about a conversion killer). I brought this to the attention of the support team 4 months ago. They wouldn't believe it was their theme, and just kept telling me it must be cause by an app I am using or customisations I did. After about 20 emails the finally believed me (after I found out the bug is even present on their demo stores) and I was told it would be fixed in an update. Now 4 months later the bug is still there and the customer support as unhelpful as before. I expected a lot more from the most expensive Shopify theme around and have received (much) better support from free Shopify apps than what I've received from OOTSB. So here I am still waiting for their Theme Updater to tell me there's an update and hoping this time the bug will be fixed. Besides all this, premium support means waiting 5 working days for an answer it seems....
Canine Spirit
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 18, 2020 Unfortunately I was keen to use this app as it said it preserved theme settings but it doesn't completely. All my fonts, footer settings, apps, uploaded swatches, etc are lost each time. Disappointed.
Intuitive Code
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 13, 2020 We have been paying for two years for what is a lousy support which does not even respond to customer queries. Shopify should investigate this company
NORRDS
Google | Lucky
5 Aug. 5, 2020 Excellent updater, yes it costs $9 a month but you also get customer support and regular updates. Thankyou so much to the whole OOTS team for your product, service and support.
Concetto è
Google | Lucky
1 July 31, 2020 The app has a bug. I asked for a refund. They are not very open to this type of requests. Basically I bought a thing. This thing is not as it's supposed to be. So I asked for a refund (also because I never got the ads about the app until a month after the "12 months of free available theme updates"). Basically I bought their theme 13 months ago. I discover that it needed some updates. I bought their app (14$ perr month) a month ago to have my first theme update. The app has a bug, they told me: "we are sorry ad we are working on it". Perfect, with my money. Anyway keep the 14$ and enjoy them!
Nikki Darling
Google | Lucky
1 July 21, 2020 Making the theme updater a paid product is very frustrating, given how much the theme costs in the first place, and will be the reason I no longer recommend Out of the Sandbox to other retailers.
omigo
Google | Lucky
1 July 14, 2020 We write very rarely reviews but in this case this app has been bothering us a lot. We have bought the first team from Out of the Sandbox many years ago. At that time we didn't need to pay for the theme updater app at all and it was a free of charge which I think is the minimum as themes from Out of the Sandbox are not cheap. But since last year they figured out they want to make more money by charging for this app but in the same time reducing the quality of service. In the past we always got feedback within 24 hours when there was an issue or they needed to resolve something. Now we need to be lucky to get feedback in 3 days and this is called priority service. So for us conclusion is that if we want to buy more themes it will definetley not be an Out of the Sandbox theme. We would even not mind to pay for the theme updater app as it is useful but what they charge is too much 14USD per month for priority support taking too long. And yes we do request it through the theme updater with the priority support and a general email. If you go outside of the priority support you should be happy to hear something in 1 week and sometimes even 2 weeks which is completely ridiculous Update 14-07-2020 According to feedback of out of the sandbox the question has been answered. But this is not the case still waiting for an answer on some changes of the theme they made which changes the design of the header
مكتبة بنيان
Google | Lucky
5 July 7, 2020 I used one of thier themes and had one problem, contacted the support and found it helpful. one of the best advantages of thier theme is that is get updated regulary through the theme updater app and found it great! I think a lot of people here don't appreciate this app and think buying a theme for 180 dollars give theme the right to get free updates for life! of course they will charge for the updates and that how the will try to provide a better service.
it's us or naked
Google | Lucky
1 June 13, 2020 This whole Theme Updater show is a total rip-off. Out of the Sandbox sells their themes with the promise of providing regular updates for free. Confronted with that they tell you, well, we do but you have to start from scratch and rebuild the whole store if not using Theme Updater, which only comes with an expensive monthly-subscription-scam instead of a one time fee. Out of the Sandbox blames that on Shopify. It looks very much like two companies working hand in hand, trying to suck more money out of their clients who of course depend on them if they want to keep up functionality of their e-commerce businesses. This is absolutely ridiculous!
Herbman Hustlin
Google | Lucky
1 June 9, 2020 This is not really for the app but more for their support for the theme which is terrible, unresponsive, dimissive and unhelpful. I was just going to purchae another theme from them but on the back on my recent experience I won't be.
Claribelskincare.com
Google | Lucky
2 June 5, 2020 I see I'm not the only person with disgust about the lack of customer service Out of the Sandbox offers. Beautiful themes, terrible, slow customer service. Not a way to expect people to run an ecommerce business. I forewarn potential customers to stay far away. If you run a day to day ecommerce business, pandemic or not, this is not the right company for you. P.S. I have tried for literally WEEKS to get (Magdalena) answers with no resolve. Shame on you for not supplementing your customer service as well as you've paid attention to your theme design. JQ
Ameyalli
Google | Lucky
1 May 2, 2020 I just purchased a subscription for Theme Updater to save me the job, However I updated the theme and the app is functionless since it doesn't work at all. The theme I updated is exactly as if I've installed the theme (EMPIRE by Pixel Union) and there are no changes at all, it's all at its defaults. This is so annoying. These are the files which don't have any changes (it's a ridicule amount of files, it doesn't make sense in most of them). Empire (Dec-23-2019) (May-3-2020) has been successfully installed. However, 55 template files contained customizations that could not be automatically applied to the latest version. - Hide template files assets/Account.bundle.js assets/Contact.bundle.js assets/ContainSwatchTooltips.bundle.js assets/DynamicBlogPosts.bundle.js assets/DynamicFeaturedCollection-StaticCollection-StaticProductRecommendations-StaticSearch.bundle.js assets/DynamicFeaturedCollection.bundle.js assets/DynamicMenuList.bundle.js assets/DynamicNewsletter.bundle.js assets/DynamicPromoBlocks.bundle.js assets/DynamicRichText.bundle.js assets/DynamicSearch-StaticHeader.bundle.js assets/DynamicSearch.bundle.js assets/DynamicTwitterFeed.bundle.js assets/DynamicVideo.bundle.js assets/GiftCard.bundle.js assets/instantPage.min.js assets/Page.bundle.js assets/polyfills.js assets/PXSMap.bundle.js assets/StaticAnnouncement.bundle.js assets/StaticArticle.bundle.js assets/StaticBlog.bundle.js assets/StaticCart.bundle.js assets/StaticCollection.bundle.js assets/StaticFooter.bundle.js assets/StaticHeader.bundle.js assets/StaticHighlightsBanners.bundle.js assets/StaticPassword.bundle.js assets/StaticProduct.bundle.js assets/StaticProductRecommendations.bundle.js assets/StaticRecentlyViewed.bundle.js assets/StaticSearch.bundle.js assets/StaticSlideshow.bundle.js assets/theme.scss.liquid assets/vendors-DynamicBlogPosts-DynamicFeaturedCollection-DynamicInstagramFeed-DynamicTwitterFeed-StaticCol-09aa5aa9.bundle.js assets/vendors-DynamicFeaturedCollection-StaticCollection-StaticProduct-StaticProductRecommendations-StaticSearch.bundle.js assets/vendors-DynamicSearch-StaticHeader.bundle.js assets/vendors-main.bundle.js assets/vendors-StaticCart.bundle.js layout/none.liquid layout/theme.liquid sections/dynamic-instagram-feed.liquid sections/static-article.liquid sections/static-cart.liquid sections/static-product-reviews.liquid sections/static-product.liquid snippets/cart-item.liquid snippets/product-form.liquid snippets/product-grid-item.liquid snippets/product-price.liquid snippets/product.liquid snippets/structured-data.liquid templates/404.liquid templates/page.contact.liquid templates/product.liquid The template customizations will need to be manually applied from Empire (Dec-23-2019) to Empire (Dec-23-2019) (May-3-2020) only for these individual files.
The Gifted Panda
Google | Lucky
1 April 15, 2020 Installed on thegiftedpanda.co.uk when the app was free and only used a couple of times, some bits didn't work due to custom coding, however, it largely did work and only had to do minimal work. So I would have given it 4 stars..............until it changed to a subscription service. Not paying that kind of money for something I will use a couple of times a year. More cost effective for me to do the work manually for half a day.