Store name Rating Posted Review text
EUG FASHION
Google | Lucky
1 May 3, 2022 not working with Prestige theme, also I have two other themes not working neither very disappointing
Paw & Glory
Google | Lucky
1 April 11, 2022 Awful app and for the amount the theme actually cost I'm not impressed. I have a layout issue so the theme doesn't load web pages properly in mobile desktop mode and I've asked many times for help but never get a response
Redback One
Google | Lucky
1 March 13, 2022 Horrible customer support, they don't respond, and I purchased my theme! The support for Out of the Sandbox is nonexistent! I messaged on March 3 to ask for assistance and I messaged again on March 8th because of no response. No one from Out of the Sandbox has responded to my requests! I used the theme updater to get my SopPay badges to show on my products and in the preview, it showed the payment badges but when I hit publish, the badges didn’t show on my live website. None of the information provided on Out of the Sandbox address my issue. Customer service hasn’t gotten back to me at all!
Laska by nature
Google | Lucky
2 March 10, 2022 After updates one has to do redo absolutely everything on the updated site from scratch so not worthwhile. The customer service is lousy, as no one replies to questions for days...Disappointed.
EcoFresh™️
Google | Lucky
1 Feb. 13, 2022 This app is of no help. I paid for the app in order to update my Turbo theme. I have tried several times and it's not working. When I go to publish it, and check the version number, it's still showing as the old version. I go back to theme updater and it still shows as my theme needing to be updated. I just don't understand. Please help.
Karukinka
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 25, 2022 Primero, tengo que pagar por actualizar un tema por el que pagué 400 dólares. Segundo, no actualiza todo y me recomiendan contratar a un experto al que tengo que pagarle. Tercero, el experto me pide que haga un upgrade a la versión Pro de Theme Updater que hace un día había comprado el día anterior, y el desarrollador no cobra la diferencia, cobra todo de nuevo!! First, I have to pay to update a theme that I paid $400 for. Second, it doesn't update everything and they recommend me to hire an expert that I have to pay. Third, the expert asks me to upgrade to the Pro version of Theme Updater that I had bought the day before, and the developer doesn't charge the difference, he charges everything again!!
RELX UK
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 7, 2021 So I bought the theme, but I can't get updates afterwards? I have to pay extra and take the risk to update my theme?
Soundporium Music Store
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 8, 2021 Updated my theme. Ended up hiring a shopify expert to migrate all the modifications from the previous version.
TOP-SHELF.de
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 6, 2021 Although the pro monthly subscription was cancelled in the app at the beginning of September after the update to Theme 2.0. The app was still charging for October and November. According to Shopify the app was still registered for requiring charges.
Manuka Products UK
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 2, 2021 I used this app to update my theme to shopify 2.0, I had no code modifications but the updater still couldn't keep the basic text or images from my previous theme because the liquid themes were incompatible . As you have to pay for this app it is a particularly grating waste of time and money, surely the point is that it is able to transfer the basics to your new theme whereas I have to now start from scratch.
GordonStuart.com
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 30, 2021 I followed the instructions regarding my unsupported theme. Still displayed as unsupported. The support email told me to do what I’d previously done. Since this is a paid app, why did I not receive actual support?
One4Boys
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 28, 2021 I am just going to say that the customer service is terrible !!!. First, the lady told me to go somewhere else to resolve the issues caused by the Booster app to my online theme ( I am still working on it). Secondly, somebody else tries to mitigate the rudeness on the first email providing the same answer but using a different tone.
madcaphats
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 27, 2021 So disappointed by this app and this company. As I pro plan subscriber I would really like to know why I am still waiting 3 days for anyone from the company to look at my issue and get back to me. I had to hire a shopify expert to help me update my Flex theme to the latest version, because the app did not do it, at a cost of $400. This is just seemingly wrong to me. I feel compelled to leave a one star review. I granted permission for someone from Out of the Sandbox to go into my shop and perhaps they would have offered the advice that the issues required this extra help. I got tired of waiting for my "priority support" I have been paying for but never used before. The money you pay monthly to Out of the Sandbox for this app is money spent on empty promises.
Ivy B.
Google | Lucky
1 Aug. 3, 2021 Total joke. Have nothing to do with Pixel Union or Theme Updater. MY ADVICE ON SHOPIFY: ELIMINATE ALL THIRD PARTY APPS AND THEMES. Deal only with Shopify. Shopify support is exceptional. Theme Updater has no live chat, no phone number and ridiculous response times. As if you can sit around waiting for theme help for 24+ hours. Also, shady AF. Got an email from "Jonathan" with a useless link to a help page (instead of answering any actual questions), then 24 hours got the same email, with useless link, AND THE SAME PICTURE OF "JONATHAN," but this time, he was "NORM." Yeah, ok. This seems like one guy living in his mother's basement, occasionally replying to support emails in between "gaming," since all they're capable of is copying and pasting links to their useless help page. "Myles" did sort of attempt to help but his response times were so slow, any info was useless. With Shopify support, you get IMMEDIATE help that actually fixes any issues. Not just "suggestions." Shopify can access the backend of your site and do what needs to be done. Shopify is exceptional. Theme Updater is absolutely useless.
hexaTile Touch
Google | Lucky
1 July 18, 2021 They have terrible customer service and rarely go out of their way to help you fix bugs that their development team caused.
RiseUpDesk
Google | Lucky
1 April 9, 2021 I used this app for the first time. I was glad I made a backup of my site because I had to restore it. I had 7 backend pages that could not be updated. I used a comparison app to review the coding that was different and I spent 3 hours updating. I published the site. It did not work at all. I paid a significant amount for the theme and I am very disappointed with this Theme Updater and I will not be purchasing it. Disappointed with Out of the Sandbox for slow or no response.
Pine Street Clinic
Google | Lucky
1 March 31, 2021 Beware: This developer will access your Shopify store without explicit permission and make changes to your theme without your permission.
BodyHeal
Google | Lucky
2 March 11, 2021 The app itself works okay but the issue is the support from out of the sandbox. They take forever to fix issues. It's now been 3 months since I listed a critical bug. They have been prioritizing it for 3 months and still no fix for the Flex theme.
Soozal
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 30, 2021 I am pleased I didn't purchase a full year. There was a lot that didn't get converted into the new version starting with the hero background video on the homepage. There was a list of things I would need to manually update, which I don't know how to do and defeats the point in paying for this service.
Gostand Ireland
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 19, 2021 We run several OOTS themes and I have found them to be excellent. Never contacted customer service before. Never had to. Never will again. Zero help if you customize your code at all. Simply refuse to look at it. We have a very specific variable issue which exists in one store but not an identical mirror of it. I understand they get a lot of basic requests from people with limited coding skills but we were very specific about the issue and provided examples. So don’t expect support, your Pro plan is virtually a waste of money, as is the app as customisation is not supported (fair enough as it would be hard) however OOTS themes need apps to make them leading edge. That’s the contradiction we see. Even Flex is not a complete solution. Reading reviews my tops tips would be: 1. Don't use a new theme. Wait until it's been debugged for a year. (Flex?) 2. Keep a changelog for yourself. 3. Forget updating it if customised. 4. Once working try not to touch it. 5. Every two years open a second store and update/perfect it, then repoint your domain. Close the old store or at least remove all the apps and anything costing money. 6. When loading a new theme check it functions 100% before changing anything. Otherwise, no support. 7. Be careful mirroring stores. It might not function and it's very hard to find out why. I still gave them one star as frankly there is no support if you ever change a single line of code in your theme despite how tech savvy you are.
Reversal Solutions, Inc
Google | Lucky
1 Jan. 4, 2021 Constant updates to FLEX. Cant update because too may customizations and THEY DONT TELL YOU THAT WILL BE A PROBLEM. Have an ongoing issue with our ADD TO CART button for several months. Shopify wont help me. Add To Cart is the most important piece or an ecommerce store. Out of The Sandbox will not provide me with phone call.
Naturally Boosted
Google | Lucky
2 Jan. 1, 2021 The app is ok .. but Out Of the Sandbox have really taken their foot off the gas. There are almost no updates to FLEX to use this app. FLEX was a premium theme purchased from their own site. I was under the impression that they were a leading developer of themes but we are now having to consider moving to a different theme. If you are going to use this App. ALWAYS take a backup of the site first. It has not any major damage to our site but even the slightest of changes (adding apps, some CSS) can break the process.
tabythapolaris
Google | Lucky
1 Dec. 9, 2020 DO NOT USE THIS HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE DO NOT USE THEME UPDATER APP OR ANY THEMES FROM OUT OF THE SANDBOX 3 WEEKS, 10 EMAILS, COPIED AND PASTED RESPONSES IN MY SUPPORT TICKET< THE RUNAROUND FROM ALL REPS IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG THIS COMPANY WILL NOT HELP YOU. This app updater deleted the product page in theme customizer and no one is helping me resolve this issue. I granted them access to my store, provided screen shots and they are not even reading previous threads in the customer support ticket. I just get a generic copy and pasted response of how to edit the product page in my theme customizer... I AM BEYOND FRUSTRATED.
Affinity Bands
Google | Lucky
2 Dec. 8, 2020 Really like the Turbo theme when we originally got it, but don't even bother updating it with this. It keeps freezing and then after the update, so many things are wrong and doesn't seem like they care to fix it. When I spoke to their customer service, they knew of the bug, but never resolved it. Now a new theme update is out and it's worse than before. So pointless to pay monthly for half assed theme updates.
MANUFAKTURWERK®
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 21, 2020 Destroyed our theme twice in a row. Furthermore it places the wrong items in the cart via mobil (happen also twice). No real support, "because of custom design". Well, the custom design is just basic CSS so no real adjustments. That should be able to handle the update but it doesn't. Support is very nice and friendly, but useless. They've created a storetasker ticket for us, but there was no reply by anyone. Great looking themes but be aware of adjusting anything - not even the font (like in our case). (PRO PLAN)
Rendez-vous Nature
Google | Lucky
3 Nov. 19, 2020 This app is usefull because you can view template file customizations within a theme, but it doesn't import the customizations, you need to do that manually. We paid for "Contact Priority Theme Support". We were disappointed because the theme Parallax had important bugs, and the customer support wasn't ready to admit that and to fix them. After many emails (waste of time and stress), the support agreed the bug was linked to Parallax theme. They fixed the problem that I notified 7 days ago, so I change my review.
Balance ONE
Google | Lucky
1 Nov. 9, 2020 We downloaded this app and it didn't work. We immediately asked for a refund, but their response was "there are no refunds for partially used time periods, even if it is a single day." Be very careful when buying anything from this company.
mythaicurry
Google | Lucky
1 Oct. 21, 2020 This app can't help what is already broken, and their themes are exactly that; broken. Their "support" is laughable, we have a big problem with their theme, they can't work out what's going on so take the easy way out...."must be down to a third party app" when every single bit of evidence points the other way. Out of the sandbox? We will, asap.
milkCases
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 27, 2020 Still 9 templates need to be customized... it just helped with the banner images, so not recommended.
Pinayapple
Google | Lucky
2 Sept. 20, 2020 I installed the app based on shopify's recommendations but I was not informed that it was not compatible with my theme!! (debut) Now I have been charged for an app that wont work with my store